Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Top Notch! I actually live overseas and can't find any dressing packets (let alone Ranch!) so when I found this recipe I was so excited. I made it into a dip for a party last night and it was devoured. I guess everyone was as excited as I was to have Ranch! :) I know it sounds silly - but thank you for posting this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Not quite ranch, but good nonetheless. Next time I'm going to use kosher instead of seasoned salt, and I'm going to try adding dill weed, as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good...tastes like ranch even with reduced fat sour cream and mayo! Gave it 4 instead of 5 stars because I think the salt content might be too high. I read reviews first and so reduced the salt. I used 1/2 tsp (which is almost too salty in itself) with 1 cup buttermilk; abt 1/4 cup sour cream (this was all I had) and abt 1/4 or more mayo. I didn't have parsley. But it tastes like ranch to me. I also cut down pepper based on previous reviews. My recommendation is to add salt and pepper to taste. Oh, and yes I added dry dill weed based on the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I give this 4 stars beause after adjusting the salt and pepper down per other reviews, the buttermilk taste was a little too strong. Very good otherwise. The next time I will try reducing the buttermilk a little and adding the dill weed to see how it comes out. I served it with a vegetable plate for Xmas Eve open house and there wasn't much leftover for the next morning! Thanks for sharing. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rookiecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Have made this twice now. Added the dill as others had suggested. And used only sour cream as I had no buttermilk. Was a big hit as a dip with veggies and with pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I am trying to eat healthier but I love the ranch in the stores so that is sort of what I am going for. This was missing a flavor I have not yet pin-pointed, maybe just the preservatives; sadly however, it just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Great Recipe! I noticed that after leaving the dressing in the fridge for a week or so, the flavors really kicked in. I´m living in ecuador and i was looking for an inexpensive ranch dressing. This is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very good recipe! I just added an entire pint of low fat sour cream,I took other suggestions and added some dill weed, made the dip taste outstanding! Now I just have to find recipes to use up the rest of the buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samanthalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This has to be the yummiest homemade ranch dressing that I've made from this site. It's sooo much better after it's been in the fridge for at least a day. Next I'll try this as a dip. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
tastes so darn fresh! i mixed it with 1 cup buttermilk, 1/2 cup mayo, and 1/2 cup sour cream. perfect consistency and flavor!!! i also followed some other reviewers advise: added 1/8 tsp dill, cut the pepper back to 1/2 tsp (i use fresh ground so it takes less), cut the salt back to 3/4 tsp -using 1/4 tsp seasoned salt and 1/2 tsp sea salt. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States