Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe is great. I love the idea of making my own ranch mix without the MSG. I especially like that I can tweak it to our own tastes. I like that I can tone the garlic/onion down if needed. I have made this twice now. I used my coffee grinder in order to grind up the celery flakes a bit and it worked great. The first time I mixed it with Greek yogurt, low-fat milk, and light mayo. The second time I mixed it with full fat sour cream, low-fat milk, and light mayo. I liked the yogurt version the best. I am dipping my celery sticks in it as I type my review! Thanks so much Kelly for sharing this recipe! I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
To make Ranch Dressing I used 1/4 c. nonfat plain yogurt, 1/4 c. light Mayo and 1/4 c. skim milk. Mix with 2 T of the dry mix. Store in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
We were packing a picnic to take out of state and I thought I had a packet of this in the cupboards. Guess not. So, I saw this, mixed it up and it was spot on, Scotdog!!! The only thing I noticed is that this makes about 2 packets worth of the store-bought...and to get the same amount of flavor (or seasoning) that you would from 1, you have to use the whole amount of this. May have just needed more salt, I will play with it next time. Otherwise, very happy with the finished product! I will be making a large batch this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love having a home made alternative to store bought mixes. This one fills the bill very nicely. I followed the recipe exactly, using 1/2 tsp kosher salt. After running the mix through the grinder, I mixed it up with light sour cream, light mayo, and 1% buttermilk. Even though I did use the buttermilk powder the recipe calls for, I had some buttermilk to use up. There was no need to let it sit for the flavors to meld, and it was thick, creamy and very flavorful with a nice tanginess to it. I'll be interested to see how this one works for other uses besides dip. I'll be trying it in larkspur's 'Hidden Treasures Ranch Pockets' next! Thanks for coming up with this one, Sd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I tried 3 stores and couldn't find a source for buttermilk powder so I improvised by using low fat milk powder in the mix. When I made the dressing I used fat free Greek yogurt, low fat mayo and full fat buttermilk with just a few drops of lemon juice to make sure it still was tangy. It was great for the Rosemary Ranch chicken Kabob recipe from here. Thanks, Kelly this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was GREAT! I made one slight change by using chopped green onion (because I usually don't have dry minced onion on hand) and followed Scotdog's directions on how to make it into a dip, only I doubled it to use 4 tbsp. of the dip mix, 1/2 c. nonfat plain yogurt, 1/2 c. FF sour cream and 1/3 c. lowfat milk. Even doubled, we inhaled this. My boys thought this was better than my Zesty Ranch Dip!!!! NOM. NOTE: For all you confused on where to find the dry buttermilk powder, it's usually with the dry milk powders on the baking aisle of your supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Excellent! I used for vegetable dip and it was a huge hit, I mixed with FF sour cream. I couldn't find celery flakes so I substituted ground celery seed and omitted the salt. **I added 2 tbsps mix, sour cream and butter to our mashed potatoes, fantastic, even the kids liked it! ** I made ranch chicken, added a heaping tbsp to the marinade, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I'm so glad I finally found buttermilk powder! I probably quadrupled the dill, because I *knew* I'd want more and it's so good. I used some to make a buffalo chicken sandwich for lunch. YUM. I mixed this up in a little Mason jar so I could just shake it up after I added the ingredients. It looked so pretty before I mixed it that I'm thinking seriously about packing it up this way and giving it as gifts. Thank you, Scotdog! Love this stuff...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I really liked this recipe - I used it for a dip for Buffalo wings and veggies. I also thinned some down for a salad dressing, but that didn't seem to have enough flavor. Maybe I thinned it too much. As a dip, it was fantastic. Because I have fresh chives, I used them and they worked great. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I don't think I've ever seen dried celery flakes, so I ended up using 1/4 t. celery salt. That was a bit much so I may reduce that further, or use a bit of celery seed. I had to experiment a bit. I've only made dressing out of it. Used it on a pasta salad, which I thought was bland, and wasn't sure what to blame. So I used it on a chicken recipe I'd already made and the dressing I'm happy to say was fine. (It was the salad's fault. :-)) There is a slight difference in flavor from the packaged, and I haven't quite put my finger on what, but it's close and does taste like ranch. This is about half as flavorful as the packaged kind, but the volume is twice which makes up for it. So treating this as one regular package works. For anything calling for dry mix, I'd use double the volume of this. For dressing, about a 1:4 ratio with whatever "gunk" used works pretty well. That is, like 1/4 cup of the mix and 1 cup of gunk - for dressing that's 1/2 c. mayo and 1/2 c. milk and then let it sit in the fridge a bit. (Haven't used it as a dip yet.) I like that I can make up just enough to use for a recipe. As a side note, it says to store in a cool dry place, but my buttermilk mix requires refrigeration so this would too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States