Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is the closest I've encountered to a substitute for store-bought Ranch. Thank you for those who rated properly and convinced me to try this. BTW: There is nothing more obnoxious than rating a recipe, complete with review: for a recipe you’ve modified completely out of proportion to the original – “ooooh, we just loved this after I omitted this, added this, doubled this. . .” for a recipe you haven’t tried – “Oh, I haven’t tried this, but I love it!” for a recipe whose directions you didn’t follow or whose ingredients you changed or omitted – “We left out half the ingredients, and we’re sooooo disappointed with the results.” This one has them all. Please rate the original recipe, as is. Your modifications shouldn’t feature into your ratings at all. You're supposed to be rating THIS one, not your version. This certainly explains why all the recipes on here are magically 4’s & 5’s. Not helpful at all, people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is fantastic! I used this recipe in order to get away from added sugar, and I am so impressed! The recipe is easily adjustable, if you like more or less of any particular seasoning. I followed a reviewers suggestion to make the dressing with 1/4 c. plain non-fat yogurt (I used Greek), 1/4 c. mayo, and 1/4 c. milk, mixed with 2 T. of the dry mix. I will never buy ranch dressing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I like the idea of controlling the ingredients of what I eat and this recipe liberates me from the "what's that ingredient" surprise on commercially-made foods. When I made my first batch, I had to sub out the celery flakes with 1/2 tsp of celery seed and used fresh chives, but otherwise stuck to Scotdog's recipe. I used 1/2 cup each of 2% milk, nonfat Greek yogurt, and light mayo to 2 Tbsp of dry mix which turned out too thick. For the second batch, I upped the milk by 1/4 cup or so (eyeballed) and it turned out creamy with just the right mix of herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I finally got all the ingredients to make this so I could use it in another recipe. I really like this mix thanks for sharing this recipe! So handy to have it all made up and ready to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used a bit more garlic powder and omitted the salt. Yum! On a warm and sunny spring day, this recipe really helped the salad in our meal stand out. I'm looking forward to using this dry mix in hamburgers, on pork chops and even mixed into chicken salad. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I made the mix and it is my favorite, I love it, I use 2 spoons of the mix, 2 spoons best food mayonaise, 2 spoons of sour cream and milk until I like the consistance of the sauce. I love it and I bought everything in the bulk section from Winco so it was so cheap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mannheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
So Good!!!! Looked high and low for dry buttermilk powder and found it at my local Walmart! Omitted the dried chives and celery flakes since I had none on hand....other than that...this was a great Ranch mix! Used it in Zucchini Ranch Meatloaf from this site....used to rounded tablespoons....may use even more....nice! Thanks Scotdog!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Perfect to complete the gift baskets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is good and lends itself very well to personal adjustments. Thanks Scottdog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Ran all the ingredients through my food processor until they were powdered, like in store packets. Made a double batch which I keep in an old glass jar, for burgers, fries, dressing, dip, etc. Great idea and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States