Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
To make Ranch Dressing I used 1/4 c. nonfat plain yogurt, 1/4 c. light Mayo and 1/4 c. skim milk. Mix with 2 T of the dry mix. Store in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was GREAT! I made one slight change by using chopped green onion (because I usually don't have dry minced onion on hand) and followed Scotdog's directions on how to make it into a dip, only I doubled it to use 4 tbsp. of the dip mix, 1/2 c. nonfat plain yogurt, 1/2 c. FF sour cream and 1/3 c. lowfat milk. Even doubled, we inhaled this. My boys thought this was better than my Zesty Ranch Dip!!!! NOM. NOTE: For all you confused on where to find the dry buttermilk powder, it's usually with the dry milk powders on the baking aisle of your supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I’ve been dying to try this and it did not disappoint. Found everything at Wal-Mart: buttermilk powder in the baking isle; celery flakes with the spices. I used this in a couple of recipes that called for ranch mix and I couldn’t tell the difference. I also made dressing with it and it was good, but it was phenomenal the 2nd day after the seasonings had time to meld and reach their full potential, so if at all possible, make your dressing or dip a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe is great. I love the idea of making my own ranch mix without the MSG. I especially like that I can tweak it to our own tastes. I like that I can tone the garlic/onion down if needed. I have made this twice now. I used my coffee grinder in order to grind up the celery flakes a bit and it worked great. The first time I mixed it with Greek yogurt, low-fat milk, and light mayo. The second time I mixed it with full fat sour cream, low-fat milk, and light mayo. I liked the yogurt version the best. I am dipping my celery sticks in it as I type my review! Thanks so much Kelly for sharing this recipe! I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is the closest I've encountered to a substitute for store-bought Ranch. Thank you for those who rated properly and convinced me to try this. BTW: There is nothing more obnoxious than rating a recipe, complete with review: for a recipe you’ve modified completely out of proportion to the original – “ooooh, we just loved this after I omitted this, added this, doubled this. . .” for a recipe you haven’t tried – “Oh, I haven’t tried this, but I love it!” for a recipe whose directions you didn’t follow or whose ingredients you changed or omitted – “We left out half the ingredients, and we’re sooooo disappointed with the results.” This one has them all. Please rate the original recipe, as is. Your modifications shouldn’t feature into your ratings at all. You're supposed to be rating THIS one, not your version. This certainly explains why all the recipes on here are magically 4’s & 5’s. Not helpful at all, people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Dairy Free...Skipped the Buttermilk due to food allergy... Used less the 1/4 tsp celery salt in place of flakes (skipped salt in recipe) & added more garlic Used 1/4 plain yogurt/ 1/4 cup mayo and soy milk. Dropped everything in to a small mason jar mixed it up well for dd to use on Pizza tonight Thanks SD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I tried 3 stores and couldn't find a source for buttermilk powder so I improvised by using low fat milk powder in the mix. When I made the dressing I used fat free Greek yogurt, low fat mayo and full fat buttermilk with just a few drops of lemon juice to make sure it still was tangy. It was great for the Rosemary Ranch chicken Kabob recipe from here. Thanks, Kelly this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I'm so glad I finally found buttermilk powder! I probably quadrupled the dill, because I *knew* I'd want more and it's so good. I used some to make a buffalo chicken sandwich for lunch. YUM. I mixed this up in a little Mason jar so I could just shake it up after I added the ingredients. It looked so pretty before I mixed it that I'm thinking seriously about packing it up this way and giving it as gifts. Thank you, Scotdog! Love this stuff...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I don't think I've ever seen dried celery flakes, so I ended up using 1/4 t. celery salt. That was a bit much so I may reduce that further, or use a bit of celery seed. I had to experiment a bit. I've only made dressing out of it. Used it on a pasta salad, which I thought was bland, and wasn't sure what to blame. So I used it on a chicken recipe I'd already made and the dressing I'm happy to say was fine. (It was the salad's fault. :-)) There is a slight difference in flavor from the packaged, and I haven't quite put my finger on what, but it's close and does taste like ranch. This is about half as flavorful as the packaged kind, but the volume is twice which makes up for it. So treating this as one regular package works. For anything calling for dry mix, I'd use double the volume of this. For dressing, about a 1:4 ratio with whatever "gunk" used works pretty well. That is, like 1/4 cup of the mix and 1 cup of gunk - for dressing that's 1/2 c. mayo and 1/2 c. milk and then let it sit in the fridge a bit. (Haven't used it as a dip yet.) I like that I can make up just enough to use for a recipe. As a side note, it says to store in a cool dry place, but my buttermilk mix requires refrigeration so this would too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have been looking for a Ranch Dressing/Ranch Dip mix with out MSG and all the other yucky stuff that store bought has. This is it! Perfectly what I wanted. Great flavor. I have received lots of rave reviews on all forms of this ranch. Add less liquid (buttermilk or milk) to make it a dip or more to make it salad dressing. I store the dry mix in the pantry until I need to whip something up. I have also substituted celery salt for the celery flakes, and just omitted the salt. And before I found dry buttermilk powder, I just prepared it with real buttermilk and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States