Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
YUMMY and a lot cheaper than store bought ranch dressing. Try the powdered mix sprinkled on popcorn...it's WONDERFUL!! Thank you for this recipe =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I had tried a homemade ranch dressing recipe from here and wasn't too thrilled. So, when I saw this one and the reviews, I decided to give it a chance. I'm glad I did. I did what some reviews advised and made this with 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt, 1/2 cup light sour cream, 1/3 cup fat free milk, and 4 tbsp of the mixture. For some reason it had a little bit of a sweet taste (which I don't like in ranch dressing) so I added more salt and per another reviewer, added some lemon juice to tang it up a bit. It definitely helped but I'll be researching other ways to make it more tanging. I tasted the dry mix and it seemed to taste way to peppery but when I added the dairy products it was a great blend. Overall, I really enjoy this and will do it again! Plus, even with all the dairy, no points for 2 tbsp is a Weight Watcher's friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
The dry mix doesn't smell like much, but when mixed up as a dip or dressing, it tastes even better than the packaged mix. I did mix my dry ingredients in the food processor to make it less chunky. Wait a few hours before eating it in whatever you're making, so the dry spices have a chance to rehydrate. More economical than the packaged mix, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I haven't even used this mix yet, but I know it will be great. I went to my garden to cut chives and parsley. Chopped, they dry in the microwave on a paper towel in 30 to 40 seconds. I used freshly ground black pepper (personal choice). About 2 seconds in the blender, it was ready! Truly, it smells good enough to eat with the scent of the fresh herbs. Can't wait to make some tomorrow. Be sure to store in the refrigerator; the can of buttermilk powder says that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe. I just joined Weight Watchers and have not wanted to buy the packages of ranch dry mix or dressing. This will come in handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davidsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I have been making this for a couple months and never have all the spices. I finally had them all to make as written and gotta say....I'm addicted. I mix with all nonfat plain yogurt and eat it by the bowlful with tortilla chips. The only thing that doesn't work for me is the pepper, which I halve. Great recipe to replace the packets with which I used to make my dip.UPDATE 9/13/11-I think I had an "odd" batch of pepper originally. Since replacing, I make exactly as written. I finally made the salad dressing using SD's amounts since I had some veganaisse(can't have reg. mayo) and it was much better than when I tried to make it with extra yogurt in place of the mayo. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Like you I have to be very careful about what I eat so I have been making my ranch dressing fresh whenever I needed it. This recipe is wonderful, it is nice to have it on hand when I run out of fresh buttermilk, or decide on the spur of the moment to have salad for dinner. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarbgranny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I’ve been dying to try this and it did not disappoint. Found everything at Wal-Mart: buttermilk powder in the baking isle; celery flakes with the spices. I used this in a couple of recipes that called for ranch mix and I couldn’t tell the difference. I also made dressing with it and it was good, but it was phenomenal the 2nd day after the seasonings had time to meld and reach their full potential, so if at all possible, make your dressing or dip a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I really hate to not give this a good review but we really didn't like this. I have made it twice the first time it tasted like french onion dip thinking maybe I messed up the measurements I made it again and left out the dried onion but it still had an odd taste. I'm thinking that it may be the celery flakes so I'm planning on making it again and either reducing them or omitting them all together. Keeping my fingers crossed I really want to like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Dairy Free...Skipped the Buttermilk due to food allergy... Used less the 1/4 tsp celery salt in place of flakes (skipped salt in recipe) & added more garlic Used 1/4 plain yogurt/ 1/4 cup mayo and soy milk. Dropped everything in to a small mason jar mixed it up well for dd to use on Pizza tonight Thanks SD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States