Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is just SO good! I love being able to make this myself and be free from pre packaged mixes. We actually made a few variations of this, one with bacon salt, one with jalapeno powder, one with chipotle powder... all delicious. Thanks, Scottgod, for giving us such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I was so excited to see this recipe. All the great reviews gave me such high hopes for this recipe. I am disappointed beyond words. I thought (as did my family) it was terrible. First off it's way too much onion. And it was missing something, I am not sure what yet. It's not smooth as you would expect ranch to be. I pulsed it in my food processor many times and the minced onion doesn't break down enough. The chunkiness is a personal preference, but it's still way too much onion. The only reason why I gave it 2 stars instead on the original one I had, is that I am willing to try it again and put in less onion and play around with the other ingredients to see if I can make it better. Otherwise, I just wasted money buying the buttermilk powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nennyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
What can I say......THE DRY MIX IS EXCELLENT!!!! I can't believe wow. I used my ninja processor and polverized it finer because of the celery flakes. And well the powder mix tasted great on my fingers. I bet I could add some zest and make some home made ranch toritilla chips...yum! I also when making it into dressing took SD's notes and found it was soo nice, a little thinner then bottled Hidden Valley but soo comparible to Kraft verison. I bought Dannon's Greek Yogurt and matched up the mayo to the little 5.3oz container yogurt and used 1/3 cup of milk with the 2 heaping tbsp of the mix and I had what I thought was as close to Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing. My daughter thought I was joking when I told her I made it, and she was stunned...we did a taste test with the bottle and this verison...and it was pretty darn close. I think 1 batch of the mix makes 2 batches of dressing...O SD!!!!! Thanks you for your recipe and the suggestions on how to make it into dressing....I'm soo keeping this. I always have the ingredients on hand....TOTAL HUGS!!! Thanks! You Rock!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have wanted to try this for sometime now. Finally found buttermilk powder at a Minnenite bulk store. I almost always make ranch using the packets, so I was thrilled to find a homemade version of the mix! I liked the dressing, however, I like robust flavor, so next time I plan to play around with the spices a bit. This is a great start though! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Nice to know all the ingredients in a dip. Excellent. Next time I will try making it minus the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have been looking for a Ranch Dressing/Ranch Dip mix with out MSG and all the other yucky stuff that store bought has. This is it! Perfectly what I wanted. Great flavor. I have received lots of rave reviews on all forms of this ranch. Add less liquid (buttermilk or milk) to make it a dip or more to make it salad dressing. I store the dry mix in the pantry until I need to whip something up. I have also substituted celery salt for the celery flakes, and just omitted the salt. And before I found dry buttermilk powder, I just prepared it with real buttermilk and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I used this in a recipe calling for the packaged version. I skipped the buttermilk powder because I really couldn't find it. It has a flavour though subtle, but not the ranch-y kind. Needs to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Love, love, love this! My husband and I sprinkle this on potatoes and burgers, but I'm surprised we haven't tried it with more seeing as we will eat just about anything when it comes with Ranch dressing. We also use it to make a dip for our veggies (thicker than dressing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Pretty close to store bought. I used all the seasonings except for celery flakes, which I didn't have. For a dip, I used 16 oz cream cheese, 1/3 to 1/2 c. light mayo, 1 tsp. vinegar, 1 tbsp. milk, dash of worcestershire, and 1/4 c. of the dip mix. It is best if you let it set for a day or so. WE will see how the family likes it at our Tgiving dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3boys4me
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
YUMMY and a lot cheaper than store bought ranch dressing. Try the powdered mix sprinkled on popcorn...it's WONDERFUL!! Thank you for this recipe =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States