Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
With the exception of needing a little more salt to suit my taste, this receipe perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this recipe today. I didn't have celery flakes so I used celery seeds (using equivalent 1 tsp celery flakes= 1/8 tsp celery seeds). Two 0.8 oz packets Saco Buttermilk mix = 3/8c powder. I made 1.5 recipe. I put it in my mini cuisinart to make a fine powder. This stuff tastes amazing! DH said it is better than the store bought powder-- no sugary taste. I used my kitchen scale to measure 2oz for Alabama fire crackers. Thank you for sharing this recipe Scotdog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
to prepare the dressing adding 2 cups of mayo+2 cups of milk makes it very runny . it wasn't like I expected not sour enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
A recipe for an appetizer called for a store-bought packet of Ranch dip mix. Since one of my guests is allergic to MSG, I often struggle to find a way to get the ranch flavor into that appetizer without the MSG. After just one try, this recipe is my new go-to recipe. I will always use this over the store-bought packets, even when that friend will not be around. The flavor is so much better than the store-bought mix. I did add a bit extra salt, but it was not necessary, and in the future I will do it exactly as written. My conversion ratio was four tablespoons of this mix in place of one packet of store-bought dip, and it turned out much more flavorful than was necessary, so in the future, I will probably use two or three tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Sprinkled on my popcorn...mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beechy, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My kids loved this! They made this themselves! We used 32 oz plain yogurt. 1/4 tsp black pepper(no white), 1/4 tsp celery seed and no chives(didn't have any). They started tasting it after 30 minutes. I couldn't keep them away from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Excellent. I have tried several ranch seasoning mix recipes and I like this one the best. It has more depth and tastes more like ranch dressing should. I used this recipe in the Monterey Ranch Chicken Bake recipe and it really added a lot of flavor. Thanks Scotdog for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This worked out pretty well for me - I made it to use for Pull-Apart Bacon Bread (coating the bread balls in oil and dry ranch seasoning). It worked nicely for that purpose, but when I used the rest of it to make dressing (with sour cream, mayo and milk), I have to say I didn't really care for it like that - I'm just used to the bottled stuff, I guess! I'll make again to use as the dry powder in recipes, though I think I would use onion powder rather than the dried minced onion. Thanks for sharing your recipe Scotdog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is just SO good! I love being able to make this myself and be free from pre packaged mixes. We actually made a few variations of this, one with bacon salt, one with jalapeno powder, one with chipotle powder... all delicious. Thanks, Scottgod, for giving us such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I was so excited to see this recipe. All the great reviews gave me such high hopes for this recipe. I am disappointed beyond words. I thought (as did my family) it was terrible. First off it's way too much onion. And it was missing something, I am not sure what yet. It's not smooth as you would expect ranch to be. I pulsed it in my food processor many times and the minced onion doesn't break down enough. The chunkiness is a personal preference, but it's still way too much onion. The only reason why I gave it 2 stars instead on the original one I had, is that I am willing to try it again and put in less onion and play around with the other ingredients to see if I can make it better. Otherwise, I just wasted money buying the buttermilk powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nennyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States