Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I used 2 tsp onion powder as thats what I had on hand and I also toned down the garlic too. Very good. My go-to recipe now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snickers9584

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I add 1/8 o f a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar (I use red and it doesn't change the color) to add a tang to each batch. My batch is 1 Tbls of mix to 1/3 C of light mayo and 1/3 cup of 1% milk. I've also done 1/2 fat-free Greek yogurt and half mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I wanted to love this..I really did, but just did not. It just didn't taste like ranch to me. It was bland. I admit, I did not have any chives, so I added just a bit more onion, but other than that followed the recipe to a tee. It just didn't have much flavor. I really think it needs much more salt. I had another recipe for this that uses crushed saltines, and I really liked the idea of using the buttermilk powder instead. The other recipe tastes like Hidden Valley to a tee, so I just made it with substituting the buttermilk powder for the saltines. It has a great flavor, just waiting to see if it will thicken up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
perfect! just what I was looking for, I suggest adding the mayo and milk slowly alternating until you get the consistancy you like best. The addition of papkrika is great. You can mix up the ingrediants as you see fit, but keeping the garlic, and dill at a minimum is key to not overwhelming the other flavours. I have tried a lot of ranch recipes using buttermilk powder and this hands down is the best I have found yet! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Thought that I should have rated this since I have been using for 6 months now. I just love this Ranch Mix.....Use to make chip dip, use in mashed potatoes and use in a soup recipe that calls for ranch dip. I keep plenty on hand for whenever a recipe might call for it. This mix is great.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is the closest I've encountered to a substitute for store-bought Ranch. Thank you for those who rated properly and convinced me to try this. BTW: There is nothing more obnoxious than rating a recipe, complete with review: for a recipe you’ve modified completely out of proportion to the original – “ooooh, we just loved this after I omitted this, added this, doubled this. . .” for a recipe you haven’t tried – “Oh, I haven’t tried this, but I love it!” for a recipe whose directions you didn’t follow or whose ingredients you changed or omitted – “We left out half the ingredients, and we’re sooooo disappointed with the results.” This one has them all. Please rate the original recipe, as is. Your modifications shouldn’t feature into your ratings at all. You're supposed to be rating THIS one, not your version. This certainly explains why all the recipes on here are magically 4’s & 5’s. Not helpful at all, people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is fantastic! I used this recipe in order to get away from added sugar, and I am so impressed! The recipe is easily adjustable, if you like more or less of any particular seasoning. I followed a reviewers suggestion to make the dressing with 1/4 c. plain non-fat yogurt (I used Greek), 1/4 c. mayo, and 1/4 c. milk, mixed with 2 T. of the dry mix. I will never buy ranch dressing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I like the idea of controlling the ingredients of what I eat and this recipe liberates me from the "what's that ingredient" surprise on commercially-made foods. When I made my first batch, I had to sub out the celery flakes with 1/2 tsp of celery seed and used fresh chives, but otherwise stuck to Scotdog's recipe. I used 1/2 cup each of 2% milk, nonfat Greek yogurt, and light mayo to 2 Tbsp of dry mix which turned out too thick. For the second batch, I upped the milk by 1/4 cup or so (eyeballed) and it turned out creamy with just the right mix of herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I finally got all the ingredients to make this so I could use it in another recipe. I really like this mix thanks for sharing this recipe! So handy to have it all made up and ready to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used a bit more garlic powder and omitted the salt. Yum! On a warm and sunny spring day, this recipe really helped the salad in our meal stand out. I'm looking forward to using this dry mix in hamburgers, on pork chops and even mixed into chicken salad. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States