Drunken Winter Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I loved this stew. My husband suggested a few ingrediants and this recipe came up I Added Chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Just made this Stew and have to say it is delicious! I added a little bit extra garlic salt and also added a little bit of Cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was very tasty. I was craving some soup with cabbage and this recipe hit the spot. I used great Northern beans instead of kidney beans, but I think it would be just as good with kidney beans. I used a bottle of Newcastle Brown beer, and I added the Dijon mustard, but it was still kind of bland so I added about 2 tablespoons of pretty strong horseradish mustard, and that gave it a little kick. I also added another teaspoon of garlic powder. This is a good winter soup recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
swapped out beer for semi-sweet white wine. Added caarots & celery instead of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised with this stew. I used carrots, celery and butter peas instead of red beans. I added worsterchire sauce, basil, a dash of hot sauce and used vegetable broth. I made it on a Sunday, so, no beer. Note to self (always have beer in the fridge). The garlic powder and mustard were clever ingredients. Raised in Georgia, you know I served this stew with cornbread and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I wish I had learned this recipe in college when everything with beer was exciting. I tried to add some flavor by adding parsley, real garlic, carrots, Oktoberfest beer and spicey mustard but the cabbage and potatoes were just so bland. It was okay though with all these additions - just not very flavorful. If I attempt to make it again I would probably use vegetable broth instead of plain water and maybe add some tomatoes or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Based on the other reviews, I decided people either love this soup or they hate it, I like cabbage and had some on hand and I decided to give a go. We all loved it! It is hearty, filling, and frugal - a great simple meal when served with buttered bread or rolls. I think the garlic powder or garlic salt is essential, though. I needed to add more at the table and it really made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Sorry but I did not like this one. I followed the directions and used a "good" beer. Both of us took two bites and threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This recipe was totally awesome! Whoever didn't like it probably used some cheap beer like pabst. I used good ol'English Newcastle, and it came out marvelous and was fast to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
people who think this soup is dull and bland must not have senseable tastebuds this soup was the best i can't wait to make it again for my family i wish i could swim in this soup and eat it every day in the winter this soup was how the kids say it these days awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States