Drunken Sailors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These were an excellent dish to make for a camping trip with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were delicious! Be sure to add whiskey. I used vodka since that was all we had but whiskey would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I thought these tasted delicious. I used two packages of keilbasa but did not double the liquids based on other reviews that there was a lot of liquid. I added just a few more ounces of the ketchup and bbq sauce. I did use a little more brown sugar and kept with the 1/2 cup whiskey. Simmered on low for 6 hours just as stated and was very pleased. I did taste test throughout the day, and it seems that while it tasted good throughout the day, the long simmering time really does the trick and they became so tender after the full 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuisine debutant

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
The alcohol is this is way too overpowering for us. I tried one during the last hour of cooking and decided to drain them in a colander and rinse. Then I remade the sauce without the alcohol and put on high for about 45 minutes. Good sauce. Will make a again just without the alcohol or a lot less than called for. We used "lite" kielbasa and it was tender and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Tangy & zippy! Very delicious. I made it just as listed in the recipe. As one other reader indicated, it did make a lot of liquid. Probably what I would do next time is add another kielbasa and a tad bit more of each liquid. Will certainly be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I made this for our Pot Luck at work and our St. Patrick's Day party the next day, and everyone LOVED IT!! There were absolutely no leftovers! :) I couldn't get over how easy it was to make and how good it came out! I cut down on the whisky on the advice of the other reviews and added just a bit more brown sugar and it was just perfect. We couldn't stop "testing" it before our guests started arriving, lol. I will definitely be making this again - thank you so much for sharing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I used grape jelly, omitted the brown sugar and cut back on the whiskey. I also added pepper and cut up a sweet onion and added it to the bottom of the pot. This'll be good beside rice or macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is great for a football party or casual evening. Quick to make and always popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I made this today for dinner. The title says it all! Drunken, indeed. Bf said the sauce reminds him of the Jack Daniel sauce at TGIF that he likes, but the alcohol in this was a bit too strong. We used Wild Turkey whiskey because that's what we had, so we may try to use Jack Daniels next time or use less. It makes a lot of sauce in comparison to the Kielbasa, so I may use more Kielbasa next time. I tried it plain and on a bun; it was good both ways, we will just modify the alcohol a bit next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States