Drunken Sailors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this was just ok...would be better if you do homemade meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I added just a tad more brown sugar, and sriracha sauce because I like things spicy but it was excellent!!! Will be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
used chili sauce more flavor then catsup grape jelly replaced bbq sauce doubled the bourbon and tripled the sausage we won the best appetizer contest before the game. ps won the game too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is very similar to a recipe in a little cookbook that my mother was given by the Philadelphia Electric Company, who sold and installed the electric stove in the kitchen of her new house in 1934! Differences: no barbecue sauce, sliced hot dogs instead of kiebasa, and some Worcestershire sauce (to taste). This is especially good with Irish whiskey (NOT Scotch, but you could use bourbon). You can use small cocktail sausages, but they will soak up the flavors better if you cut them. Some hot pepper flakes will give it some zip, and it keeps well -- can be made a day or two ahead. I often saute some onion and add it late in the cooking, but you can get away with raw onion at the start. If you find the alcohol to be too strong, boil it a bit with the top off at the end to evaporate some of the spirits -- but leave SOME, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Like many people said, this makes a lot of sauce for only one package of sausage. I cut all the ingredients in half and used one package, and I still thought it was a bit too saucy. The sauce was good though! I used a sweet and spicy BBQ sauce and cut back a bit on the whiskey. My husband wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made these for my last party and had many ask for the recipe. I didn't double the sauce at all and used a little less of the whiskey and cooked 4lb of kielbasa. Excellent recipe:):):): )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great appitizer and so simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfr610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
very easy and very tasty. everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These are really good when you cook them for the right amount of time, but when you over or under cook them, the tastes don't quite work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
my husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States