Drunken Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I was very hesitant to try these as #1, I don't like whiskey, #2, I didn't really want to waste a half cup of whiskey and #3, I didn't want to ruin my first batch of pumpkin seeds. The ingredients sounded intriguing so I tried them and was truly amazed how delicious they are. I didn't have dark brown sugar, and didn't want to try to adlib since the recipe only called for 1 Tablespoon, so I just added maybe 2 teaspoons more light brown sugar but otherwise followed the recipe. I think using dark brown sugar would make them taste better/different but overall, I am very pleased with them especially since I can't really taste the whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Completely awesome! Made these for a work party. Addictivly good! I added some smoked chipolte sauce to the boil for a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made it with Spiced Rum instead of whiskey and it was awesome! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Ok everyone, I hope your ready for a few variations on this bad boy of a pumpkin seed recipe. So on the whiskey I used jd like it suggested. On the bacon drippings I used maple bacon drippings and omg it was a nice twist. For the brown sugar I did use light brown sugar just like one of the other reviews but I uped it even more and went with 1 & 1/2 tablespoons. And finally on the salt I went 1 tablespoon sea salt and 1 tablespoon garlic salt and bing bang boom there it is MMMMMMMM GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I LOVE roasted pumpkin seeds and this year I decided to try this recipe because it sounded interesting. This was so good I might buy another pumpkin just to make these seeds again. I added the homemade bacon bits and they get a delicious caramelized glaze on them. Yum! I am obsessed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Wow!!! I used Dewars Honey Whiskey because it was all I had and also because I thought it may give a good sweetness. I can't stop eating them and they aren't even done in the oven yet. I may have simmered mine too hard because I had nothing to drain... the whiskey, had already reduced to a glaze when they were ready to go in the oven, but I would do it the same way again. This glaze is AMAZING. I did also use cayenne as other reviewers have noted. I am so glad we bought HUGE pumpkins and I have tupperwares full of fresh seeds because I will be making many batches of these in the coming weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I also did the cayenne pepper, everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
BEST PUMPKIN SEEDS EVER! They were so good I had to make more! I did follow the "cook's notes" and added cayenne pepper and also drizzled the remaining sauce on the seeds! I am defiantly going to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
One do the best roasted pumpkin seed recipes I've found. Being from KY, we love our bourbon. I made for a Thanksgiving Day snack, but I doubt they'll last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States