Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
best mussels recipe i ever made !!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Excellent! We couldn't stop mopping up the broth with our crusty bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I changed this one just a bit and it turned out awesome. Used beer instead of wine and added some heavy cream. It was a hit at our last dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a big winner with everyone. I had 3 pounds of mussels. We subbed beer for the wine, used a tablespoon of crushed red pepper (we like 'em hot!) and since we were having clams as well we wanted this to be a red sauce. I added a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes and doubled the butter. I let the sauce cook a bit to thicken and then added the mussels. So good! Loved the sauce over some linguine. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This recipe was great! It made me look like a master cook without much experience. It looked beautiful, but I did have a hard time getting all the mussels to open (may have been the quality of the mussels). I used my boyfriend and my favorite wine, which is a sweet white and what we had on hand, I will not do that again! it was way too sweet and fruity. dry white or beer next time, but I will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved it! Thank you! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I picked up 2 pounds of PEI mussels the other day and had no idea what to do with them. So I searched my go to site and found this recipe, all I can say is fabulous!!! A little too much heat for me so I will reduce the red pepper flakes next time. I think trying this with red winw would be great too. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticatedGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We enjoyed these mussels, and a pound per person worked out perfectly, too. Next time, I will add more butter to the dipping sauce, but that's just a personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Super easy to make. I added shallots and would definitely add them again but great without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I squeezed lemon juice in there as well.. I used moscato wine cause it was all I had at the time and it was actually very good with it. This recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States