Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by luvyezika
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I love mussels and decided to try cooking it. I tweaked the ingredients and added more flavor. I added 4 tbl spoon of butter, 2 cups of dry white wine, red crushed peppers, 1 cup of tomato puree, red sliced onions, 1 whole sliced sweet bell red peppers, 4-5 sprigs of thyme, 1 cup of chopped fresh parsley, 2 cloves of minced garlic, 2 bags of cooked shrimp, and 3 lbs of debeard mussels. I had the onions, garlic, peppers, thyme, parsley, and 3 tlb spoons of butter simmer n caramelize first. Then I added my homemade seasonings,pepper and the crushed peppers until all the ingredients were blended. Then I added the wine and left it cooking for about 2 min and then added the tomato puree. I left that cook for 2 more min then I added shrimps and the mussels. I added 1 table spoon of butter and covered it. I only uncovered it to stir the mussels. I cooked it until the mussels opened and the shrimp were cooked. It taste so good. I think if I would have used the original recipe alone, without adding my zest then it wouldn't have tasted as good. The broth was spicy n amazing. We all had the garlic bread dipped in the broth. I also cooked bow tie pasta (al dente) and added the broth to it and it was a winning dish in my house. Spent about $50 it fed four people and had left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
taste was good, not outstanding, but because of the simplicity, it gets 4 stars. make it even easier, just grill the mussels, then drizzle the sauce over them in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Amazing recipe. Didn't have lemons, used lemon juice. Used cilantro instead of parsley. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was NOT good. If I were to make thing again I would likely double the butter, and split the wine with some type of stock. Two cups of wine is terrible. I used good, dry white and even added a leek that I had in the fridge but there was no flavor besides the wine. Seafood like this shouldn't need salt and this did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is divine! I felt like I was eating this at a "Legal Seafood" restaurant in Boston. Anyone that loves seafood, has traveled some and has experienced a "Legal Seafood" restaurant in Boston knows what I'm saying. I only made half of this recipe. I live in Colorado at an elevation of 6,800 feet and it only took 2 minutes for the mussels to open, I expected that it would take much longer than that yet the mussels were done perfectly. Being that I only made half of the original recipe amounts, I found that 1 cup of a nice white wine was too much. I suggest that anyone that makes this entree as written for 2 servings to only use 1 cup of wine instead of the 2 cups that is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Quick last minute meal with fresh ricotta and spinach pasta. Tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This had mixed reviews at our house. My daughter loved it and thought it was very flavorful. I didn't care for it. Ah well, if we were all alike it would be a boring world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These are awesome and we love to use this recipe in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, using Pinot grigio for the wine. And it was a bit less than ok. My guests liked it, though, so it gets 3 stars. Maybe if I used beer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States