Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Made them for the first time. My husband loves mussels so there was definite pressure :) He LOVED them!! A neighbor stopped by to visit and tried several and raved they were delicious and tasted like a chef made them...I'll definitely make again!! I did use 2 tsp Gilroy Farms minced garlic and 3 Tbsp of lite butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Stehle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simply superb! I decreased the amount of white wine (1.5 cups) and added a large splash of heavy cream (about 1 Tbsp). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as written. As someone who really loves mussels and who has made them many times in a variety of ways... I can say that this is my new favorite recipe for them. I made 'em especially for my elderly father, who really enjoyed dipping his crusty bread into the amazing sauce. Many thanks to Chef John for yet another splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe - so many things that you can do to tweak! For the second attempt, I made some adjustments (in order of addition to the pot: More butter (not much - though more butter is always best), More garlic, about 2 medium chopped leeks (they were in the fridge getting sad from the farmer's market 3 weeks ago), a huge tomato roughly chopped (again, from the farmer's market last week. Poor dear was getting squishy - oh well, cut off the weird stuff and use the rest! I tasted first, it was divine), added 1/2 pound of fresh shrimp with shells still on - backs cut with scissors to make for easy peeling later but not de-veined, 3/4 of a medium summer squash- diced into 1/2 in cubes (this might've been too small, oh well), about 1/2 of the wine replaced with distilled water, I didn't have parsley but I had a ton of sorrel (again, starting to get sad. We tend to play favorites with vegetables, running out of kale but never eating the other greens!) so I took about 3/4 of a big bundle and roughly sliced across to make ribbons. Dropped some in at the end - got a bit brown and strange looking but added a wonderful toothy brightness to vegetable bites that lemon couldn't capture alone. The result? Fantastic! A medley of bright vegetables in a light, mildly tomato sauce. I meant to add cream but forgot! It was still delectable. Must be served with a big bowl for shells (both mussel and shrimp). What to do with the shells? Bury them in the yard, I suppose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
We love this dish when we eat out and other attempts to make it at home failed, until this recipe. Better than any restaurant and it was so very easy. It will be a regular on the home menu and entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wonderful... first time cooking mussels.. we loved them. Added a little more red pepper flakes. Our new favorite seafood recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
The lemon zest over powered this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Added minced shallot with garlic. Used Savignon Blanc. Came out fantastic! Next time I might try adding heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by genechristopher
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Delicious! A little more sweet than I wanted. Perhaps I will try something other than a Chardonnay next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genechristopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Didn't change a thing. Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I added mushroom and onion to the broth to add a little bit more flavor as well as linguini. I cooked the linguini until it was almost cooked, strained it, and add it to the broth to continue cooking. After the mussels were open I took them out and added the pasta to the broth. Then, I took most of the mussels out of the shells and added it to the pasta and broth once that was cooked. Added lemon and pepper a once it was cooked. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States