Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We love white wine so this was great for my family ! All adults I might add :) Used french bread for "mopping" up the sauce and it made a meal with a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Thanks for posting a recipe home cooks can do! So many recipes have 85 steps and require equipment I'd never buy. This is easy and really lovely. I'm also serving lobster rolls and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tai Nesbit-Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Beyond delicious! I was a little short on the wine, so I just used what I had and they turned out great. This is a definite keeper~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Probably need better mussels. Some were pulled apart Next time, check out mussels at purchase time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Made them for the first time. My husband loves mussels so there was definite pressure :) He LOVED them!! A neighbor stopped by to visit and tried several and raved they were delicious and tasted like a chef made them...I'll definitely make again!! I did use 2 tsp Gilroy Farms minced garlic and 3 Tbsp of lite butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Stehle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simply superb! I decreased the amount of white wine (1.5 cups) and added a large splash of heavy cream (about 1 Tbsp). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as written. As someone who really loves mussels and who has made them many times in a variety of ways... I can say that this is my new favorite recipe for them. I made 'em especially for my elderly father, who really enjoyed dipping his crusty bread into the amazing sauce. Many thanks to Chef John for yet another splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe - so many things that you can do to tweak! For the second attempt, I made some adjustments (in order of addition to the pot: More butter (not much - though more butter is always best), More garlic, about 2 medium chopped leeks (they were in the fridge getting sad from the farmer's market 3 weeks ago), a huge tomato roughly chopped (again, from the farmer's market last week. Poor dear was getting squishy - oh well, cut off the weird stuff and use the rest! I tasted first, it was divine), added 1/2 pound of fresh shrimp with shells still on - backs cut with scissors to make for easy peeling later but not de-veined, 3/4 of a medium summer squash- diced into 1/2 in cubes (this might've been too small, oh well), about 1/2 of the wine replaced with distilled water, I didn't have parsley but I had a ton of sorrel (again, starting to get sad. We tend to play favorites with vegetables, running out of kale but never eating the other greens!) so I took about 3/4 of a big bundle and roughly sliced across to make ribbons. Dropped some in at the end - got a bit brown and strange looking but added a wonderful toothy brightness to vegetable bites that lemon couldn't capture alone. The result? Fantastic! A medley of bright vegetables in a light, mildly tomato sauce. I meant to add cream but forgot! It was still delectable. Must be served with a big bowl for shells (both mussel and shrimp). What to do with the shells? Bury them in the yard, I suppose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
We love this dish when we eat out and other attempts to make it at home failed, until this recipe. Better than any restaurant and it was so very easy. It will be a regular on the home menu and entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wonderful... first time cooking mussels.. we loved them. Added a little more red pepper flakes. Our new favorite seafood recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
The lemon zest over powered this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States