Drunken Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have made this several times and it is always great. Sometimes we use a little ham and some liquid smoke if we don't have bacon. I also cook the greens for less time since we like them a little less mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wow!!! I was able to get my 9 year old AND New England Hubby to ask for more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe as written, except, I added 2 tbls. of sugar and about an eighth of a cup of apple cider vinegar. Theses greens are amazing!!!! You do not need to like greens to enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
thank you so much for this recipe, I luv greens and unsure how to get them to taste good like my mama's. You have done it! :O) bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Like GAgirl I thought I made dang good "greens" but this gets the blue ribbon. I used it (minus the pork chop) for turnips and greens and it's now the "house recipe." Only thing I'll change next time is to reduce the amount of cayenne just a smidgen. I told my 91 year-old aunt about it and she (who taught me how to cook greens and still cooks for her son and his family) said "well, I'll just have to try that."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was my first time making collard greens. I actually did not think I even liked them before, but somehow got a craving for them. This recipe was wonderful! I attempted to guesstimate the cayenne pepper measurement, and got a bit heavy-handed, so they were pretty spicy, but it grew on me! I enjoyed the burning sensation. :) I will certainly be making these again, although I won't be taking the leftovers to work, since everyone thought I was having a liquid lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I used a dark, malty porter called Blackjack (Lefthand Brewing Co) for this recipe and it was fantastic. Smelled great while cooking. Use pork sausage instead of chops...and serve it in/with tortillas. This recipe rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Being from the South, I thought I knew everything there was to know about making "greens"-however, the addition of the beer made them sooooo much better! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Great taste. Added some white balsamic vinegar after serving, really enhanced the flavors. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I have this all the time, using the same recipe. It never gets old and it's cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States