Drunken Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wow!!! I was able to get my 9 year old AND New England Hubby to ask for more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Like GAgirl I thought I made dang good "greens" but this gets the blue ribbon. I used it (minus the pork chop) for turnips and greens and it's now the "house recipe." Only thing I'll change next time is to reduce the amount of cayenne just a smidgen. I told my 91 year-old aunt about it and she (who taught me how to cook greens and still cooks for her son and his family) said "well, I'll just have to try that."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I have this all the time, using the same recipe. It never gets old and it's cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Great taste. Added some white balsamic vinegar after serving, really enhanced the flavors. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have made this several times and it is always great. Sometimes we use a little ham and some liquid smoke if we don't have bacon. I also cook the greens for less time since we like them a little less mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Being from the South, I thought I knew everything there was to know about making "greens"-however, the addition of the beer made them sooooo much better! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I used a dark, malty porter called Blackjack (Lefthand Brewing Co) for this recipe and it was fantastic. Smelled great while cooking. Use pork sausage instead of chops...and serve it in/with tortillas. This recipe rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I've made this recipe twice and wasn't that impressed. The greens were just ok to me and didn't have too much flavor, we at them though, not to say they were terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Delicious! I'd noticed this recipe a couple of weeks ago when I was looking for something a little different to do with the collards growing in our garden. I made it because at the time I had a six pack of beer but only one can of chicken stock. I used some pork I'd set aside for stir fry rather than a smoked pork chop. And, I put the recipe together in a large pan then transferred the ingredients to a large oval crock pot. It was done in 2.5 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe is fantastic~~First time "green cooker" here and I must say this recipe made me look like Paula Deen's cuz'n! Easy, great taste, and well..just wonderful! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Yfee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States