Drunken Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Next time, make the collards, drink the beer. The beer made the pot likker (note Southern spelling) kind of fuzzy. I also substituted Louisiana hot sauce for the cayenne because it's easier to control the amount of "hot" you want, and the vinegar adds its own element. Good dish, but save the beer for the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Didn't have pork (which probably didn't help) so cooked with extra bacon (Collards were still a little tough after 45 minutes. Next time I will try using a different beer, including the pork and will cook in the slow cooker for a couple of hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These are GREAT. I've made them several times. My kids never liked collards until I cooked them this way. I prefer to use boneless smoked pork hock instead of the pork chop. Also I add one packet each of 'Sazon-Goya Con Culantro Y Achiote' and 'Sazon-Goya Con Cilantro Y Tomate' along with the cayenne pepper. Sometimes I also add sliced cherry tomatoes. Always buy a 6 pack of Guiness brand beer in this. One bottle for the collards, five for the cook....DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good! This was my first attempt at greens. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! This recipe was amazing. The only changes I made were using salt pork (based on another review) instead of the pork chop and eliminating the bacon and using pre-made bacon pieces. I fried a chunk of the the fat from the salt pork instead of using the bacon and then fried the onions and salt pork pieces in the grease (and tossed the extra fat after frying). I also added a generous amount of hot sauce (Texas Pete!) to give it more of a kick. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a great recipe even though I ended up not having all the ingredients. I'm guessing cooked to the T it would be 5 stars. I had to forego the smoked pork chop (went bad in my fridge) and the onion (ran out!) so I ended up using a little extra bacon, cooking the greens w/the bacon grease, beer and chicken broth. IMO the beer really made the dish unique and flavorful. I also used cayenne pepper (probably more than 1/2 tsp) and added Lawry's seasoned salt as well. I can't wait to try it with the pork chop and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
thank you so much for this recipe, I luv greens and unsure how to get them to taste good like my mama's. You have done it! :O) bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe as written, except, I added 2 tbls. of sugar and about an eighth of a cup of apple cider vinegar. Theses greens are amazing!!!! You do not need to like greens to enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wow!!! I was able to get my 9 year old AND New England Hubby to ask for more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Like GAgirl I thought I made dang good "greens" but this gets the blue ribbon. I used it (minus the pork chop) for turnips and greens and it's now the "house recipe." Only thing I'll change next time is to reduce the amount of cayenne just a smidgen. I told my 91 year-old aunt about it and she (who taught me how to cook greens and still cooks for her son and his family) said "well, I'll just have to try that."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States