Drunken Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I thought this was a great improvement on my normal stir-fried or boiled collard greens. I did not add the bacon. Added a couple chopped up fresh jalapenos to kick up the heat a bit, used a light beer...in retrospect, probably should've used a beer with a little bit more flavor (something sweet, a chocolate stout perhaps).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Greens are one of my favorite vegetables! Borrowed a beer from my sweety pie and these came together in a heart beat! I was having smoked meat with them so I left out the pig parts, but did saute them in bacon fat. Thank you JAVONNES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Next time, make the collards, drink the beer. The beer made the pot likker (note Southern spelling) kind of fuzzy. I also substituted Louisiana hot sauce for the cayenne because it's easier to control the amount of "hot" you want, and the vinegar adds its own element. Good dish, but save the beer for the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Didn't have pork (which probably didn't help) so cooked with extra bacon (Collards were still a little tough after 45 minutes. Next time I will try using a different beer, including the pork and will cook in the slow cooker for a couple of hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These are GREAT. I've made them several times. My kids never liked collards until I cooked them this way. I prefer to use boneless smoked pork hock instead of the pork chop. Also I add one packet each of 'Sazon-Goya Con Culantro Y Achiote' and 'Sazon-Goya Con Cilantro Y Tomate' along with the cayenne pepper. Sometimes I also add sliced cherry tomatoes. Always buy a 6 pack of Guiness brand beer in this. One bottle for the collards, five for the cook....DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good! This was my first attempt at greens. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! This recipe was amazing. The only changes I made were using salt pork (based on another review) instead of the pork chop and eliminating the bacon and using pre-made bacon pieces. I fried a chunk of the the fat from the salt pork instead of using the bacon and then fried the onions and salt pork pieces in the grease (and tossed the extra fat after frying). I also added a generous amount of hot sauce (Texas Pete!) to give it more of a kick. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a great recipe even though I ended up not having all the ingredients. I'm guessing cooked to the T it would be 5 stars. I had to forego the smoked pork chop (went bad in my fridge) and the onion (ran out!) so I ended up using a little extra bacon, cooking the greens w/the bacon grease, beer and chicken broth. IMO the beer really made the dish unique and flavorful. I also used cayenne pepper (probably more than 1/2 tsp) and added Lawry's seasoned salt as well. I can't wait to try it with the pork chop and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
thank you so much for this recipe, I luv greens and unsure how to get them to taste good like my mama's. You have done it! :O) bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe as written, except, I added 2 tbls. of sugar and about an eighth of a cup of apple cider vinegar. Theses greens are amazing!!!! You do not need to like greens to enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States