Drunken Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My mother would not want to hear it but these were some of the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHATCH77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Thank you for sharing this recipe!! I make this all the time now. I never use packaged bacon. Get the bacon from the deli dept. st your local grocery store. It's alot thicker and better tasting. I used a malt beer, but that's because I drink malt beers. It was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Dee-lish-us! This recipe was my first experience with collards greens. And am I ever glad I bumped into it. I love to cook with beer and wine, and we were given a nice big bunch of collards from a friends' garden. So I thought, "what the heck!" So, so, so glad I made this recipe. I've made it three times so far in two weeks. I double the cayenne since my wife and I like things on the spicier side. I used chicken broth for one meal, and used vegetable broth for another. All depends on what you like. Both can be used. I think the ingredients that really have a major effect on the flavor is the bacon and the beer. I used a Stout beer for my dish. Nice and foamy, and thick. Great, great flavor. I also used 'real' peppered bacon from my local butcher. Not that Oscar Mayer . (My apologies to Oscar Mayer, but there is worlds better bacon out there.) =) THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE! It is easily in my top 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metalsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was my first time making collard greens. I actually did not think I even liked them before, but somehow got a craving for them. This recipe was wonderful! I attempted to guesstimate the cayenne pepper measurement, and got a bit heavy-handed, so they were pretty spicy, but it grew on me! I enjoyed the burning sensation. :) I will certainly be making these again, although I won't be taking the leftovers to work, since everyone thought I was having a liquid lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I had never cooked collards before but I like how this recipe turned out. I had to make some substitutions since I did not have everything on site..I used a small amount of cured chorizo sausage in place of the meat and it added a nice flavor. Don't think I'll be making these greens again, but not because of the recipe. They just didn't bring me the "southern comfort" I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
OMG! So good! I added a little lawry's season salt. Duplicated with frozen black-eyed peas-they were good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe turned our really well. I make collard greens often and the beer added a great flavor. I changed two things in the recipe: I ended up using a package of salt pork instead of the smoked pork chop (the brand I use isn't very salty and ends up more like a thick cut bacon) - the other thing was to add about 6 drops of Chile Oil to my browning onions. I like my food a little spicy and this did the trick. This recipe is very easy and even my friend who hates cooked spinach like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Easy recipe, pretty good flavor. I added more cayenne than called for because I like the spice:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States