Drunken Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This sounds like a most interesting recipe and I'd love to try it,,,but! Steps one and two are the same so it doesn't make sense....please resubmit soon....and is it really possible to balance all the chicken on the beer can???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
I have done this receipe and and it is so funny for one and the kids love it!! That is the best part because normally when you grill a chicken it becomes bone dry and a bit unappetizing to eat but this receipe stays soooooooo moist.. and usually when we cook it we do at least 2.. one with just salt & pepper for the kids and one with garlic, cajun seasonings or whatever you want for the grown-ups. We do not use italian dressing though and that makes it even easier. and yes the cans will support the birds.. Kids think it is very comical!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
We have tried this recipe before, but we have never used the italian dressing, I think it sounds good. Instead of the mustard, I think I will try cajun spices and garlic. Thanks for having this recipe in print. I believe this is the best way to cook a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I kind of have a tiff, with this recipe. Because it was not specified that the chicken should be under indirect heat my 2 chickens caught on fire! Because of the beer (alcohol) when the juices ran out it caught onto the heat and thus created combustion. Not fun. In other similar recipes it does say to "spread the coals to the outer edge" or "place chicken in indirect heat". Well, not to put all the blame on you, because others were able to figure this out on their own, but it should be clear that the chicken be put in indirect heat in this recipe as well. I was so exceited and now I have two carcuses in my trash can. (almost humerous, give it time...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
The directions for this recipe have been edited to include a disposable baking pan. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
My husband and I grill out all the time and this is a fun and delicious way to cook chicken and serve family and friends. Linda Peters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This chicken was fun to cook. Kids loved it! I got great reviews on this dish.. my husband said he's never tasted such a great chicken. We all loved cooking it and stuffing the beer can in the cavity of the chicken. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I baked the chicken instead of grilling it, but the beer and simple seasonings worked great. You could fully taste the juicy chicken. I was weary of the beer but the beer only enhances the chicken taste. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Excellent chicken - very juicy. When my kids - 13, 8 ,6, & 1 years old - all like it, it must be good!! It made everyone laugh when I brought the chicken out to the BBQ. Definitly use a disposable tray or line yours with lots of tin foil. I had to throw mine away because I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
This was the best chicken I have made on the grill. It was so moist and flavorful. It also was entertaining to see the chickens(I did two at a time) cooking standing on the beer cans. I have a gas grill and cooked it on medium heat with disposable small roasting pans under them. Two cooking took 1 1/2 hrs. I would recommend you try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States