Drunken Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made this recipe a few times and have passed it along to several friends. We all agree, this is an easy way to cook a whole chicken and it always comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
There is a beer can chicken holder that makes it much easier, I got mine at wal-mart. We always put an onion at the neck of the chicken to keep in the heat and add a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Great taste and very moist. No it won't fall off the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
OMGosh! This was so easy and soooooo good!! I covered the bird w/ foil and added some potatoes to bake on the grill also....total cook time was less than 2 hours. Sauteed mushrooms and onions in leftover beer dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulia, Texas, USA
Living In: Dumas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I found two recipes for the beer can chicken on here, couldn't decide which was better, so I made them both. The other one was only poultry seasoning on the outside and beer in the can. This recipe turned out producing a more moist chicken. I don't know if it was the ingredients - I made one change to recipe. My beer can opening came very close to the neck opening and I was worried that the beer wouldn't evaporate into the main body of the chicken... so I cut the beer can about 1/3 of the way down for this recipe. Also, I roasted this in the oven- 450 for the first 20 minutes to crisp the skin and keep juices in..and then 375 for the next hour and a half. Very tasty, I will use this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I'm baking the chicken in the oven at this very moment, since i don't have a bbq grill. I have no idea how it tastes but it smells sooooo good that i needed to tell you!!! Made a few changes. I used chicken breast, gave it a rub with garlic powder, paprika, red/white/black pepper mixture, salt and olive oil. Let in the fridge for about 2 hours. Then made the "italian restaurant-style salad dressing I" i found at this site (good, but made it a little bit thicker and added more garlic though). Made a cut on one side of the chicken breast and rubbed with salad dressing the inside. Omitted the mustard and added an extra garlic clove, chopped onion and mushrooms. I will tell you later how it turns out!!!!....... WOW!!!!!!! Extremely tasty and tender!!!!!!! Highly recommended!!!! I had to tell you that i've tried to make this recipe again but using pork tenderloin and it's soooo good!!! since i'm the onlyone who likes chicken at home and wanted my family to try this, i had to use a different meat and i assure you this is amazing!!!! The process was exactly the same but i marinated the meat with paprika, garlic powder,.... for 12 hours. Outstanding!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Has anyone tried this using a Charcoal BBQ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I don't have a bbq grill, so i made this chicken in the oven. I seasoned the chicken before adding the mustard, and added a few seasonings in the beer can as well... the chicken was very tender, but i thought it lacked some flavor. It was good, but I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Even the 5 picky children loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
The idea was great but I cut an onion in half and stuffed it as far inside the chicken as I could and then added the bear can. I added butter to the bear(another review)and just rubbed the chicken with garlic, lawry's, pepper. My family really loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States