Drunken Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
this is fun easy and delicious, more seasoning is better than less ... have fun with it lemon pepper kicks it up Kaz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe. The chicken was very moist. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
One of my family's favorites!!! So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Delicious! Also used the onion half on top of the beer can (Budweiser), as suggested by other reviewers. Did not hold well for next day leftovers, but well worth it if you can finish a whole chicken in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by combatbootmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is also incredible with white wine in place of the beer. I like to use homemade dry italian dressing mix instead of wet for a kickier flavor. One of the best tasting chicken recipes we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very tasty and very easy. I will def. use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very good. I used the oven as it was too cold outside when I did this recipe. I just lowered the cooking rack, and added some water into the roasting pan where I placed the beer into the chicken on a nifty "beer can chicken" rack I found at my local supermarket. I even ended up running out of water as I didn't check it - which was fine. As the beer kept it very moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I did not do it on the grill, as it is January and I live in Wisconsin... so I roasted it in the oven instead. Actually, I completely changed up the recipe and just used what I had on hand, but I still wanted to rate it because I had never made a beer-butt chicken and both my fiance and I loved it. If you haven't tried this method, do so... you won't be disappointed. The chicken comes out so juicy and flavorful, and you can flavor the chicken any way you would like by varying what you add to the beer can and how you season the outside. If you roast it in the oven like I did, I recommend patting the chicken dry with paper towels and generously seasoning the outside with salt and pepper or a rub. I also added some fresh parsley to the beer, as well as various dried herbs. Finally, I capped the top of the chicken with a halved lemon to keep the moisture in and add another element of flavor. For extra crispy skin, preheat the oven to 425-450, and roast for 15-30 minutes this way, then lower the temperature to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryRookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I had never made a beer can chicken before, but i don't think i'll ever make it any other way from now on!!! i put it in the oven because my grill skills are non existent...but i don't think it really matters...threw a potato in with the beer can....this was SO MOIST i wouldn't have believed it if i hadn't eaten it myself...FABULOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have made this with just spices to the chichen & with a beer. This was a really good variation, although I forgot the dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States