Drunk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We didn't love this chicken for the same reason others mentioned - the poultry seasoning was a little weird. But this recipe has to stay in my recipe box forever because the technique of skewering the beercan so it stays in when you move the chicken around is just a stroke of absolute brilliance. It's the reason for the 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used a can of Molson M and reserved the extra beer for making a gravy. I opted to rub the chicken with a paste made from my modified version of "Memphis Rub" from AR, EVOO and a little liquid smoke. I put a little more liquid smoke and one bay leave into the can. I baked this in the oven at 350F for roughly 1h30mins. I added water in the pan as necessary so the drippings wouldn't burn. Halfway through the cooking time I added 2 cups of water, the extra beer, sachet of onion soup mix, a little of the seasoning and cornstarch. Mixed it all up, then added diced potatoes and let it cook for the remainder of the time, stirring once. Chicken was moist and perfectly cooked, the skin wasn't really crispy though (I did baste twice). The potatoes were cooked to perfection and the sauce nicely seasoned with the perfect consistency. Something I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I really wasn't expecting a lot but this chicken was very moist & tender, fantastic! I didn't have skewers so I just sat it on a foil lined baking pan and it was fine. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
We like to place our chicken in a cast iron pan so we can make up some roast potatoes while the chicken is cooking. Along with the beer we will use onion soup mix and chicken stock. Total cook time seems to be BBQ dependent. For us we baste a few times and after about an hour and a half we place the chicken directly on the grill for several minutes to finish browning the bottom of the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Add your own rub to the outside and poor some liquid smoke over the chicken and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginahoward70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mize, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very good! I love beer can chicken, but I usually use my own blend of spices and some other ingredients. Followed the ingredients for this recipe, but I used a gas grill and a roasting apparatus to make it a bit easier. This was very tasty. I did baste a couple times with olive oil. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
We just bought a holder a few weeks ago, This chicken is sooo good. I put celery and onions and garlic in both cavities. Our first drunken chicken was a treat to say the least. The outside was nice and crispy and the inside was so tender and juicy. Everyone's hints where great. Thank you Max for the thumps up in this one. Jazz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Can do the same thing with a small turkey breast. I sprayed the bird with butter flavored spray,put on the seasoning and sprayed it again. It kept the bird nice and moist and penetrated the seasoning. Also put the bird and the beer can on a heavy aluminum pie plate over an indirect propane grill. The pie pan keeps the can and bird stable and you can use the juices for basting for a bit more flavor. The pan helps in transferring the bird when done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was the best charcoal-grilled chicken I have ever prepared. I skipped the bay leaf. My 4.5 lb. bird was done in a little over an hour. The chicken was very moist, tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States