Drop Nut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
These cookies are moist and tasty and very easy to make! I made three kinds of cookies for the holidays, and these were the hands-down favorite. If you don't have sour milk, add one tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice to the milk and let it stand 5 minutes before using. I followed this recipe exactly except I sprinkled the cookies very lightly with powdered sugar while they were still warm. That made these pretty cinnamon-colored cookies look even more appealing. Thanks, Carol, for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Absolutely wonderful!! I made this recipe exactly as written. Exactly 12 minutes in the oven is perfect. I followed the sour milk/vinegar tip also. The cookies were light and flaky and delicious. After baking the first few pans, I started rolling the dough into balls instead of dropping it on the pan. It worked fine both ways. The recipe made three dozen cookies -- twice as many as listed. Try these. You surely will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
mmm...these were so yummy! great tender texture with slightly crisp edges. I mixed 1 teaspoon of cider vinegar (all I had) with the milk and let it sit for 10 minutes or so and used it in place of the sour milk. Next time I will add more nuts and maybe a little cloves or nutmeg, to give it a little "deeper" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very good. I added white chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. Definitely added to my yearly Christmas cookie list. I too used the vinegar trick and they turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elliott
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I followed recipe, but substituted gluten free rice flour for all-purpose flour. It came out just fine. Goes well with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Excellent cookie. Really easy to make. I used the lemon juice tip for the sour milk and added a little extra spice. Also had to cook a few minutes longer. Made 4 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I've found that this recipe is even better if you substitute 1 cup of mild molasses & 1 cup of granulated sugar for every 1 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
they were delicious! everyone loved them and they were all gone before 10am when i brought them into the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies are a five star cookie but I would suggest not adding nutmeg. I added just 1/4 tsp and the flavor was ....strange, for lack of a better word, which we blamed on the nutmeg. So follow the recipe as written and you will have a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States