Drop Biscuits and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nhohmann
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
"Wow. Just like Davey's Chuck Wagon in Denver,” my wife said after her first bite. Instead of cutting back on the sausage (as others have suggested), I simply increased the amount of milk in the gravy to 2 cups. Also, I highly recommend adding freshly cracked pepper liberally while cooking. And if looks matter to you, the way you drop the biscuit batter on the cookie sheet is the way they’ll come out. Be sure to double the recipe if you’re serving more than 3 people. The recipe for the biscuits makes about 5 large biscuits -- consider doubling it even if you don't double the gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhohmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I did not make the gravy portion of this recipe but did make the biscuits. My dad is my biggest critic and he told me that "These are the best biscuits I ever had". They are light and fluffy. To the people that thought they were dense must of over mixed them and made them tough. The key of biscuits is to never over mix. I cooked mine in greased muffin tins and they turn out wonderful. I will definltey make these in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Great recipe and easy. Everyone loved it and ate it all up. The only thing is the servings were off, at least for me. I made a double recipe of the gravy and a quadruple recipe of the biscuits. If I were making just one recipe of the gravy I would double the biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I made these this morning- vegan style. SmartBalance organic for the butter, soy milk for the milk, and soysage for the sausage. Delicious! The only give-away to the veganness of this was that I used vanilla soy milk without thinking... Soooo the gravy was a bit sweet. Fun, though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was so good! Biscuits and Gravy is my husband's favorite breakfast and he said that this was by far the best he's ever had! I made a few changes as suggested - I added 2 cups of milk instead of 1 3/4 cups. We also added more sausage (we used 1/2 pound pork sausage) because my husband and I are meat lovers. We also doubled the biscuit recipe, but followed the gravy recipe exactly. In addition, I added a little extra butter for the biscuits - 2TBLS and a little extra salt, and they tasted great. We still have several biscuits for leftovers too! Great recipe! "WooHoo!" says my husband. :c)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhepworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I only made the biscuit portion of this recipe, so I can not comment on the gravy, but the biscuits were the best I have ever made. Ever. Yay! I lightly hand formed them in to "biscuit" shapes rather than just scooping and dropping them on the pan. Next time I will add a pinch more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Wow!!! I have never had gravy biscuits in my life up until yesterday. I live in the South, so I figured I needed to at least try one in my lifetime. I did, and I was instantly addicted! I made them again this morning! Do the recipe as is, as it is PERFECT! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I make the gravy for this all the time. I have my own biscuit recipe that is just great. The only thing I do differently is that I used about 1-2 tablespoons of bacon grease along with some dried sage. It works great. Thanks for the base recipe to help me out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
One morning I went to make sausage gravy and had no boxed biscuit mix and went onto this web site and found this recipe. Easy and quick!!! And my husband and I are sold! No more boxed biscuit mix!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Nice-Jenks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was so easy and delicious. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States