Drop Biscuits and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
The gravy was excellent. Spooned it over a cooked egg nestled in a bed of Pillsbury Flakey Layers biscuits. No restaurant could top this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Le Mars, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have made both portions of this recipe several times and it is a winner. Sometimes I top the biscuits with shredded cheese or brush with butter and herbs to accompany a soup. Perfect quick bread. The gravy is delicious and I agree with the poster who suggested liberally adding fresh ground black pepper. It makes the gravy. The textures and flavors of this dish are great. The only thing is I usually triple the biscuit recipe as it doesn't make enough for my family of 6. I make them nice and big and they come out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I found this recipe 3 years ago and have made it for my husbands birthday breakfast in bed every year. It's his absolute favorite- we both agree it's better than just about any restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for the drop biscuits. I wanted to have some biscuits for breakfast but didn't want to do the usual flouring the counter, rolling and cutting the dough. These were very good. I will be making these again. Thanks Darlene for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I always double this recipe! Also, I found the biscuits to be a little too bland, so I have experimented and now added garlic powder, dried parsley flakes, mayonnaise and shredded cheese to them. I am allergic to dairy, so I use all non-dairy ingredients and everyone loves them regardless! Using these extra ingredients makes the whole thing better and more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
the recipe was awesome... but i added an extra half cup of milk & it was perfect the biscuits were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayson E Atkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I have made the gravy twice. I doubled the recipe and it worked out perfectly. Both times however, the gravy was too spicy for my kids. I used regular sausage so the next time I will try maple sausage. I haven't had time to make the biscuits so I've cheated and used the refrigerated kind. I can't wait to make the biscuits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Really amazing biscuits and gravy recipe and super easy! I have always wanted to make this and this recipe is exactly how I thought it would taste! Thank you Darlene!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
A nice cheap meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is mhay go to base recipe for biscuits and gravy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States