Drop Biscuits and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have made both portions of this recipe several times and it is a winner. Sometimes I top the biscuits with shredded cheese or brush with butter and herbs to accompany a soup. Perfect quick bread. The gravy is delicious and I agree with the poster who suggested liberally adding fresh ground black pepper. It makes the gravy. The textures and flavors of this dish are great. The only thing is I usually triple the biscuit recipe as it doesn't make enough for my family of 6. I make them nice and big and they come out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I found this recipe 3 years ago and have made it for my husbands birthday breakfast in bed every year. It's his absolute favorite- we both agree it's better than just about any restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for the drop biscuits. I wanted to have some biscuits for breakfast but didn't want to do the usual flouring the counter, rolling and cutting the dough. These were very good. I will be making these again. Thanks Darlene for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I always double this recipe! Also, I found the biscuits to be a little too bland, so I have experimented and now added garlic powder, dried parsley flakes, mayonnaise and shredded cheese to them. I am allergic to dairy, so I use all non-dairy ingredients and everyone loves them regardless! Using these extra ingredients makes the whole thing better and more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
the recipe was awesome... but i added an extra half cup of milk & it was perfect the biscuits were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayson E Atkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I have made the gravy twice. I doubled the recipe and it worked out perfectly. Both times however, the gravy was too spicy for my kids. I used regular sausage so the next time I will try maple sausage. I haven't had time to make the biscuits so I've cheated and used the refrigerated kind. I can't wait to make the biscuits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Really amazing biscuits and gravy recipe and super easy! I have always wanted to make this and this recipe is exactly how I thought it would taste! Thank you Darlene!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
A nice cheap meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is mhay go to base recipe for biscuits and gravy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States