Drop Biscuits and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
If you make this recipe EXACTLY the way it states, you WILL have wonderful delicious biscuit gravy! I changed the servings to 10, in hopes to feed a family of 5 and there is MORE then enough for another breakfast. Half of this recipe was consumed with 20 small biscuits. Make sure to add the flour and mix beforehand.. then pour in the milk (which was more then 4 cups when you change the servings to 10) Looks like it is too much, but when its complete, you will have creamy delicious biscuit gravy! I will not be buying the pre-made kind, or sauce packages anymore!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My boyfriend wanted biscuits and gravy for breakfast this morning. I thought I would try some thing new and I picked this recipe because it was simple and had few ingredients, I was able to use everything I already have and not go to the store... A+ on the gravy, simple and delicious and a perfect thickness. I was not however very impressed with the look, feel or taste of the biscuits. I followed the recipe to the T and like some reviews may suggest, it was in no way over-stirred. I was expecting the biscuits to at least rise a little bit but they pretty much looked the same as when I put them in. They tasted ok but were actually a bit dense. I will definitely use the gravy recipe again but I think I will go back to my own recipe for the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
It needed more seasonings. A little bland. Might try it again and add more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very easy and tasy! The only things I did differently was add shredded cheddar cheese to the biscuit mix, which meant I had to add a bit more milk and melted butter until I got the right consistancy. As far as the gravy went, I added onion powder and a couple of dashes of red pepper for a bit more flavor. I also was liberal with the salt and the crushed black pepper. Thank you of sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend & I to have today and the servings for 4 ended up filling the two of us up perfectly. I am with the other reviewers in that this makes a LOT of gravy and not as much biscuits, which is fine by me, but might not be for other people. The only thing I will do next time is double the biscuit recipe to feed more people. Oregon represent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
More rubbery than fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brdshw

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made the gravy recipe, and used bisquick drop biscuits. The gravy was fantastic! I doubled the sausage by accident, but it turned out to be good. I also added 1/8 tsp cayanne and 1/4 tsp sage to the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I am giving this a five even though I totally forgot the BUTTER in the biscuit! I microwaved it to melt it and forgot to add it! The biscuits turned out a bit dry but that was my fault. Delicious gravy though! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are nice, soft, crumbly biscuits good for crumbling up and smothering with gravy. There is not a lot of flavor, so adding extra butter or maybe even salt helps. I used double the amount of butter called for, but think it could still use more. Since these are designed to go with gravy, a flavorful gravy will make up for the lack of flavor. These are better than Bisquick, but my search for the perfect drop biscuit continues. I plan to make these again, using more butter and salt to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Made as is....but just the biscuits alone. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States