Dripping Roast Beef Sandwiches with Melted Provolone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Excellent and so easy! Doubled the recipe-2 cans french onion, 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, and 1-1/2 pounds roast beef. I added some fresh cracked black pepper to the soup mixture. Instead of pouring more juice over the sandwiches , I just served it in little cups for dipping. These were so delicious and we will use this often. What an easy meal, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badkitty1116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was easy and excellent - I also used 2 cans of soup and 3/4 lb of deli roast beef. Served 3 people. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Delishous!!! will definitley make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Absolutely to die for! The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I took a frozen beef roast (salted and peppered it) and put it in the crock pot in the morning, then by afternoon it was tender and perfectly done. This I sliced and returned to the crock pot to soak up some of the drippings while I prepared the soup/worcestershire mix and split the French bread rolls I bought this time from the bakery section at my local super Walmart. I used a slotted spoon to add the meat to the soup, but wasn't overly concerned with the drippings getting into the soup either. Then, after it was heated, I used metal tongs to add the meat to the rolls and spooned on the soup. A half slice of provolone fit perfectly on these smaller rolls; it was a perfect dinner portion size too! Served it with pasta salad and baked beans. So easy, delicious and much cheaper than buying deli roast beef, so I will be making it this way again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this last night using leftover roast beef from Sunday's dinner. It was perfect-so easy and so delicious. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
5 stars for how easy it is...4 stars for it needs a little tweaking as it is a little boring as is. We added pepper & a little a1 to the gravy & it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very yummy and so easy! I used whole wheat hamburger buns vs the hoagie rolls and it was great too! I boiled the roast beef in the french onion soup/worcestershire sause combo and then once I placed the meat on the bun I added just a small tblsp of soup/sause combo to the top of the meat then topped it off with the provolone. I don't care for really soggy bread, so this was just enough for me. 5 min at 400 in the oven was plenty of time for toasting. So great and easy! 10 min from start to finish. I will be making this recipe often for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seaygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I tried these based on other reviews and I did not care for the sauce. I make french dips just like this, but with beef broth. I think the taste of the french onion soup spoiled it for me. Did not like the tart flavor of it. If you want a good sauce use two cans of beef broth, chopped onion, 1-2 tbsp. worchestershire and 1 tbsp. soy sauce. Just add all to a pot and bring to a boil. Serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Enjoyed this recipe however made a few tweaks and it was delicious. I used 1 can of French Onion Soup and a half of a can of Beef broth. I added 1 1/2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce, 1 tbsp of A1, 1/2 tbsp of Soy Sauce, and a few dashes of pepper. I also lightly buttered the rolls before adding the beef and provolone cheese. VERY GOOD... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I used 2 cans of french onion and 1 can of beef broth. I like to have extra dipping sauce to serve on the side and this gives just enough. I used more meat then callled for. I cut my meat into bite size pieces, just so it would mix a little better. Very good and simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States