Drip Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I made this recipe for dinner last night and I must say that for the minimal amount of time it takes to prepare, this is a very tasty recipe! I made a few changes; didn't have peppercorns so I used course ground black pepper, substituted a can of beef broth for the water and boullion cubes, left out the rosemary because I didn't have any. I bought a roast on sale, cut it into large chunks and simmered on low all day in my CrockPot while I was at work. I shredded the beef and let it simmer another hour in the juices before serving. Served on toasted sweet french rolls with lots of melted Jack cheese and the juices on the side for dipping. Made a big green salad to go with and YUM-YUM!! VERY GOOD! I plan on using the leftover shredded beef in Taco's tonight. I just love recipes where I can use the leftovers in a completely different way because my husband and son usually turn up their noses to leftovers. Thanks Tammy for a simple, delicious and versatile recipe! This one is going into my family favorites recipe book!! I will be making this one often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This made delicious sandwiches! The meat was so tender it fell apart. It made all family members happy - the kids liked theirs plain, I had mine with the "dipping sauce" broth, and my husband added BBQ sauce - everyone gave this one an A++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Fabulous! Very, very tender. I used two 2.5lb boneless chuck roasts. I omitted the rosemary and bay leaf...served on french rolls with swiss cheese dipped in the au jus. Better than any other!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
INCREDIBLE!!! I've made this a few times as meat for burritos & deef dips, both are beyond yummy!!! My husband hovers in the kitchen when he knows I'm making this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is a great way to make tough meat great. I had some very tough round steak. I placed it in the crock pot with the seasonings and water and when I got home from work I shredded it. GREAT burittos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
These were good but you must try the "Easy Slow Cooker French Dip", which I liked better. For both recipes, I buttered and toasted french rolls and ate them as french dip sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This is definitely an easy recipe and a good base for some interesting variety. A great start for anything that calls for shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This is definately my new roast recipe. The flavor is incredible. I did not know that roasts could taste like this. I thought you had to rely on the gravy from the drippings to add flavor. No more. That little coffee filter packet did it all I guess. Soooo, tender, I almost had to strain the liquid off. I mean, the roast just fell into pieces as I lifted it out the pot. My only concern...chuck roast is so high in fat. I am wondering if I could use a different cut for health purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Most flavorful roast beef we've eaten. My husband finds most roast recipes bland. He loved this one. I cut the roast into large chunks (about the size of my fist) which let the flavor permeate all the meat, not just the outside layer. Also I cut down the oregano to 1tsp as suggested. Delicious!! I shredded the meat and put it on toasted hoagies with slices of cheddar. Super easy and lots of leftovers. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! I've made it twice both times with smaller cuts of meats. I deleted the salt, substituted the garlic salt with minced garlic from the jar. I also used canned beef broth rather than the bouillon cubes. Served over rice or like open faced sandwiches this can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States