Dried Cherry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I found a buttermilk substitute which I will use for this recipe. Others may want to try it when they don't have it on hand. 1. Place a Tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup. 2. Add enough milk to bring the liquid up to the one-cup line. 3. Let stand for five minute. Then, use as much as your recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
very good! i made a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is a really good basic muffin recipe. I've changed it up by using strawberries, mixed dried fruit, nuts, choc. chips, etc. what ever you want. Adding just a little bit of vanilla makes a big difference too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I prepared a double recipe (12); used butter instead of shortening; used a total of 1 cup of dried cherries; added 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp almond extract; filled the regular size muffin tin cups half full, which was perfect for 12 muffins. I made a batch of streusel topping w/pecans in my food processor and covered 6 of the muffins; then baked. After muffins were done, I brushed butter on top of the 6 that did not have the streusel topping. All 12 were absolutely delicious! I will make the recipe again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
What a nice muffin. I made these for my family and they went nuts over them. I did alter the recipe a little though. I doubled the recipe and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, (I think next time I will add 2) and instead of buttermilk, (because who has buttermilk on hand all the time) I used sour cream. I baked them in my large muffin pans and the double recipe yielded 6 large, beautiful muffins. Also I had to bake them for about 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I quadrupled the recipe, added at least a teaspoonful of almond and vanilla extract, and used butter instead of shortening. They turned out great, but I probably would add more dried berries next time (I used a combination of cherries, cranberries and blueberries). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Nice little muffins. I love dried cherries and like recipes I can make with things I already have in the house. I used whole wheat flour and cut back the shortening a little, added some almond extract, and since I didn't have buttermilk I used plain yogurt. They turned out well. Some applesauce might be a good addition next time, to make up for using less shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
They were very bland, in spite of adding vanilla extract and extra cherries. I ended up with only 2 big muffins out of the specified recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
After reading through the reviews, I did the following: doubled the recipe, added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract, used skim milk instead of buttermilk, butter instead of shortening, and doubled the amount of cherries (for a double recipe, this means I used one full cup). I love these muffins! I would give it 5 stars, except I made so many changes to the original recipe. Thank you for this great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These are okay, but they're not fabulous. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and some extra cherries. I also doubled the recipe. They looked quite nice when they came out of the oven, but are a bit heavier than I was hoping for. My five-year-old enjoyed them though, and he was the one who requested cherry muffins, so I can't really complain too much. However, I would be unlikely to make these again, as they just weren't good enough for me to want to repeat them. I suspect I'll be looking for another cherry muffin recipe that more people will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States