Dried Cherry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I found a buttermilk substitute which I will use for this recipe. Others may want to try it when they don't have it on hand. 1. Place a Tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup. 2. Add enough milk to bring the liquid up to the one-cup line. 3. Let stand for five minute. Then, use as much as your recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
very good! i made a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is a really good basic muffin recipe. I've changed it up by using strawberries, mixed dried fruit, nuts, choc. chips, etc. what ever you want. Adding just a little bit of vanilla makes a big difference too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I prepared a double recipe (12); used butter instead of shortening; used a total of 1 cup of dried cherries; added 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp almond extract; filled the regular size muffin tin cups half full, which was perfect for 12 muffins. I made a batch of streusel topping w/pecans in my food processor and covered 6 of the muffins; then baked. After muffins were done, I brushed butter on top of the 6 that did not have the streusel topping. All 12 were absolutely delicious! I will make the recipe again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
What a nice muffin. I made these for my family and they went nuts over them. I did alter the recipe a little though. I doubled the recipe and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, (I think next time I will add 2) and instead of buttermilk, (because who has buttermilk on hand all the time) I used sour cream. I baked them in my large muffin pans and the double recipe yielded 6 large, beautiful muffins. Also I had to bake them for about 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I quadrupled the recipe, added at least a teaspoonful of almond and vanilla extract, and used butter instead of shortening. They turned out great, but I probably would add more dried berries next time (I used a combination of cherries, cranberries and blueberries). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Eury Berna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Nice little muffins. I love dried cherries and like recipes I can make with things I already have in the house. I used whole wheat flour and cut back the shortening a little, added some almond extract, and since I didn't have buttermilk I used plain yogurt. They turned out well. Some applesauce might be a good addition next time, to make up for using less shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
They were very bland, in spite of adding vanilla extract and extra cherries. I ended up with only 2 big muffins out of the specified recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
After reading through the reviews, I did the following: doubled the recipe, added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract, used skim milk instead of buttermilk, butter instead of shortening, and doubled the amount of cherries (for a double recipe, this means I used one full cup). I love these muffins! I would give it 5 stars, except I made so many changes to the original recipe. Thank you for this great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These are okay, but they're not fabulous. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and some extra cherries. I also doubled the recipe. They looked quite nice when they came out of the oven, but are a bit heavier than I was hoping for. My five-year-old enjoyed them though, and he was the one who requested cherry muffins, so I can't really complain too much. However, I would be unlikely to make these again, as they just weren't good enough for me to want to repeat them. I suspect I'll be looking for another cherry muffin recipe that more people will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States