Dried Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. Heavy yet moist and not too sweet. My husband does not like nuts so I just sprinkled the remaining sugar on top and it still turned out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Excellent cake! I made this on the weekend for a dinner party and am finally just reviewing it today. It took me 3 days to even try it since I was too sick! When I finally had an appetite to eat, I really enjoyed this cake. I too decided to used slivered almonds for the topping and it was wonderful, loved how the sugar and almonds baked nice and crunchy on the top. So moist and really pretty! I only found mine needed to bake for 28 mins, although I did use a silicone pan, so that may have altered it some. Will defintiely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This cake was okay. It's good, but not great. That's why i gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Very moist cake. I don't like almond extract, so I soak the cherries in water and vanilla. Instead of a cake, I made 12 cupcakes. Just bake at the same temperature for around 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Thank you for the recipe! It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yummy, I made a few changes so I'm rating on what I made. I used plain yogurt with a tsp of vanilla instead of vanilla yogurt since that was what I had a home. I also added half a cup of oatmeal since the batter was super moist. It turned out great with those changes. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
What a pretty, delicate, almost dainty coffee cake. I made a point to buy the vanilla yogurt because I believed it would make a difference in terms of taste and texture than sour cream, even though they are basically interchangeable. I knew when I opened that yogurt and smelled that delicious vanilla fragrance I had made the right decision. I used pure olive oil (NOT extra virgin, which would be much too strong!) for the vegetable oil which lent itself well to the cherry and vanilla flavors. I also used sliced almonds rather than pecans, knowing the flavor combination of cherries and almonds as classic, and because I thought it would look prettier too. It turned out beautifully and was just perfect for a morning or afternoon cup of coffee, a refreshing change from heavier, sweeter desserts. The cherries, which I just halved, were evenly distributed throughout rather than sinking to the bottom of the cake as some have experienced. I don't know if it would make a difference or not, but I just gently blended all the ingredients together with a wooden spoon. This cake looks like a lot of effort went into it when really it mixed up in just a couple of minutes. This is just a great coffeecake recipe, which, except for minor adjustments for presentation or taste preferences, is just perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I did not like this recipe. The cherries soaked with extract were odd and overpowering and the whole thing was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Easy and yummy. Used sour cream (light) instead of yogurt (didnt have any) and it turned out light and fluffy. It takes a lot (like a WOW moment) for me to give a 5, so this is very very good...just not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Oh....this was so good! One thing that no one has mentioned so far is that this cake has such a lovely, sugary glazed crust topping from the tablespoon of sugar that is sprinkled on top. I made two very small changes that don't make a bit of difference, in my mind, to my rating of this coffee cake. I substituted sliced almonds for the pecans in the topping, as several others had done and added about 1 teaspoon of almond extract to the batter. I know this cake would be equally as good without my changes. Oh, one other thing, don't fret if the cherries fall to the bottom of the cake. It does nothing to change the taste of this wonderful cake. EDIT: I've been using Greek yogurt as that is what I always have on hand. Since I use almond flavoring in the cake anyway, I don't miss the vanilla in the yogurt. Another thing: if you like this cake be sure to try the Bright Blue Monday cake. I think you'll like that one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States