Dried Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Oh....this was so good! One thing that no one has mentioned so far is that this cake has such a lovely, sugary glazed crust topping from the tablespoon of sugar that is sprinkled on top. I made two very small changes that don't make a bit of difference, in my mind, to my rating of this coffee cake. I substituted sliced almonds for the pecans in the topping, as several others had done and added about 1 teaspoon of almond extract to the batter. I know this cake would be equally as good without my changes. Oh, one other thing, don't fret if the cherries fall to the bottom of the cake. It does nothing to change the taste of this wonderful cake. EDIT: I've been using Greek yogurt as that is what I always have on hand. Since I use almond flavoring in the cake anyway, I don't miss the vanilla in the yogurt. Another thing: if you like this cake be sure to try the Bright Blue Monday cake. I think you'll like that one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I prepared this recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. It was moist and great with coffee. It also had a long "keeping" life. I used a round pan, but plan to experiment with other pans in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I was really excited about all the good reviews, but it turned out a regular yoghurt recipe that I'm not crazy about anyway. Somebody said she used a 9x13 for double quantity so I used a loaf pan for the recipe as it is. It grew in the pan all the way up so I guess you can use the 9x13 for the recipe, if you don't want a really tall cake. I won't do this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made this for my office and my husband and everyone loved it! I am not a cherry fan but I love this cake! My husband said that it is the one of the best cakes I have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
A lovely, charming coffee cake! This baked up so nice and moist, fluffy. I really liked the idea of soaking the cherries with the almond extract; the hint of almond lent a nice flavor. Like another reviewer before me, I used plain sour cream because that's what I had on hand. A nice Sunday morning treat! Thank you for this submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
What a perfect little cake! It is SO good--tender, light, just sweet enough, and nicely enhanced with just a hint of almond--maybe the best coffeecake I've ever made. I used Stoneridge Orchards Berrymix of dried cranberries, cherries, strawberries, blueberries, & raspberries, and I left them whole. Soaking them in the hot almond-flavored water is a great idea! Super recipe, and one I will treasure--thanks, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This cake was dense, moist, and flavourful. I made with plain fat free yogurt that I had on hand and added a teaspoon of vanilla. After draining the cherries, I patted them dry between two paper towels before adding to the batter, and this seemed to help the cherries from sinking to the bottom. I made this in an 8x8 pan. I've also tried this recipe with blueberries, topped with a cream cheese icing. As others have said, this is a great recipe for adapting and I'm looking forward to trying with other dried fruits and flavoured yogurts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Very moist and delicious cake. I used cranberries and strawberry yogurt (that's all I had in the fridge) and it turned out great. After draining the fruit and patting it dry, I coated it with a little bit of flour before adding it to the cake batter (kept the fruit from all sinking to the bottom of the cake). Next time, I will try apricot and peach yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This recipe was so good. My husband really loved it. I did change a couple of things. I used sliced almonds on top instead of the pecans. When I took it out the oven after letting it sit for 10 mins. I drizzled with a glaze. I for sure would make this again!!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Delicious. Used sour cream in place of the vanilla yogurt! Very moist and flavorful! Used a 13X9 pan too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States