Dried Cherry and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is really a lovely recipe! The subtle layering of flavors and the perfect contrast between sweet and tart were heavenly. This will be replacing my nice, but boring old standard recipe. I followed to the letter however, must admit to using a black cherry/cranberry juice blend I found. My only, albeit slight, issue with this recipe is it was a tad 'loose' so I would reduce the juice accordingly next time to allow the sauce to gel a bit thicker. Thank you so much for sharing this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this for the first time today and it was an instant hit! Loved the combination of cranberries and cherries, which made it taste familiar yet very different than the run-of-the-mill cranberry sauce I would normally make. I will definitely serve this again next year, if not before. One note of caution, though: I followed the recommendation of another reviewer and added a bit of cornstarch and water to the recipe, which made it jell to the consistency I wanted. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
just what I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
A very nice berry mixture and not overly sweet. Well received by my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this tonight and wow, is it ever delicious! The two fruits are really great combined, and the cinnamon and allspice are perfect. Nothing overwhelms other flavors. I can't do sugar being diabetic, so used "diet" cranberry juice and substituted agave syrup for the brown sugar (not sure how much, just a really good squeeze). I prefer things to be more tart than sweet, so this was perfect. I also didn't measure exactly 6 oz. of cherries, but sort of estimated since I had no scale and just went by the approximate weight of what I bought in bulk today. I ate some, too, so who knows if exactly 6 ounces wound up in there, LOL! It came out wonderfully, and my roommate, who doesn't even like cranberry, said it smelled so good that she had to try it...and she loved it! It was a little juicy, but thickened up nicely as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Excellent side. Very tasty and better made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Excellent. Made without any modifications. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
It's a keeper! It's different and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klipfisch
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Wonderful. Because I like the flavor of orange zest I *was* going to zest some orange peel into it. Not finding my zester, I said "What the heck?" and quartered an orange and threw it in the pot with the rest of the ingredients. I let the sauce cook down before removing from the heat; and I left the orange quarters but removed before serving. I buy ground korintje cinnamon in bulk, so I used that rather than a cinnamon stick. Absolutely delicious (and let me throw in a plug for buying cinnamon other than what one picks up in the grocery store. you will not believe the difference in the flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States