Dried Cherries and Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Pie recipe is amazing. Honestly so good. I made it with the french pastry crust recipe on here. I used fuji apples because that is what I had, I think a more tart apple would be better but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was a hit. I used up a mixture of different apples I had on hand and added an extra dash of cinnamon..Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great pie - everyone loved it! I actually used closer to eight cups of apples and one cup dried cherries; if I had used less apples I believe the cherries would have been overpowering. I also lowered the temp to 350 after ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Good recipe for a dried cherry lover. I used sweet Rome apples so I cut the sugar in half and used Tapioca instead of flour. I felt the pie needed a little water and sprinkled 2 T of water. Still thought it could use a little more after we tried it. Of courses, we cover ours with ice cream, so it wasn't dry:) Easy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was awesome. I used Alton Brown's pie crust recipe for this, and it worked great. The flavor of this pie is sour and wonderful. I was so pleased it wasn't oversweetened. It took 8 small granny smiths plus a full (small) bag of the dried cherries. I might add more cinnamon next time just because I'm a cinnamon junkie. I will agree with another reviewer that the cherries do kinda dominate the flavor, but that's OK by me because I love dried cherries. I found the amount of flour in the filling to be fine. As others did, I let the pie bake at 425 for just 15 minutes, then knocked it down to 350 for an hour. About 20 minutes before the end I covered it with foil so the crust wouldn't get too brown. Shoulda done the milk-and-sugar thing for the crust, but it was still a fine, fine pie without. Got rave reviews. I had a little trouble with my top crust (not enough water) so it didn't look as pretty as I wanted--but it was yummy anyway. The cherries ended up plump-ish and there wasn't any juice running all over the place even on the first cut (after cooling for five hours) so if you like the runny juice thing you might want to back off on the interior flour. I liked it exactly as it was. The pie was not tall--I might add a couple of extra apples next time to get a taller pie, but maybe not. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I liked this but everyone else loved it! For me it was a little dry, but the flavors rocked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambrosia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This just didn't do it for us. The ratio of the dried cherries to the apples seemed off, and 1/4 cup of flour too much. If I was to make this again I would add another couple of cups of apples--the cherries would then be a nice accent rather than dominating the pie--we could barely taste the apples. With the amount of cherries and apples kept as written, however, the flour should be reduced to just a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I adore this recipe! We use dried cranberries instead of cherries. I've made it for special fall occasions such as Thanksgiving. The perfect amount of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is the first time i ever made a pie, and WOW did it turn out GOOD!!!! Thanks for this recipe very yummy! I did follow the other reply's 425 for 10 min then 350 for 1 hr....turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Nobleboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KasiB.
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Five Stars! I loved this pie it was delicious! I did turn the heat down to 375 after ten minutes. I also used cherry pie filling instead of dried cherries. That was all I had and it worked great. I just added 1/4 cup more flour. Also added more cinnamon. I used the Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe that is also on the All Recipe Site! It worked wonderfully! Need to try it! Glad I found both recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States