Dried Cherries and Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jayceeboyer
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
So so good. Got nothing but compliments on this pie. After ten or fifteen minutes I lowered the temp to 325 and I cooked it a little longer. Works well even without cherries. A definite Thanksgiving favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayceeboyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was a hit. I used up a mixture of different apples I had on hand and added an extra dash of cinnamon..Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tdimhcs1
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This pie turned out wonderful. The only change that is needed is in the cooking temperature. Bake at 425 for ten minutes then lower it to 350 for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Good recipe for a dried cherry lover. I used sweet Rome apples so I cut the sugar in half and used Tapioca instead of flour. I felt the pie needed a little water and sprinkled 2 T of water. Still thought it could use a little more after we tried it. Of courses, we cover ours with ice cream, so it wasn't dry:) Easy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I liked this but everyone else loved it! For me it was a little dry, but the flavors rocked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambrosia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was awesome. I used Alton Brown's pie crust recipe for this, and it worked great. The flavor of this pie is sour and wonderful. I was so pleased it wasn't oversweetened. It took 8 small granny smiths plus a full (small) bag of the dried cherries. I might add more cinnamon next time just because I'm a cinnamon junkie. I will agree with another reviewer that the cherries do kinda dominate the flavor, but that's OK by me because I love dried cherries. I found the amount of flour in the filling to be fine. As others did, I let the pie bake at 425 for just 15 minutes, then knocked it down to 350 for an hour. About 20 minutes before the end I covered it with foil so the crust wouldn't get too brown. Shoulda done the milk-and-sugar thing for the crust, but it was still a fine, fine pie without. Got rave reviews. I had a little trouble with my top crust (not enough water) so it didn't look as pretty as I wanted--but it was yummy anyway. The cherries ended up plump-ish and there wasn't any juice running all over the place even on the first cut (after cooling for five hours) so if you like the runny juice thing you might want to back off on the interior flour. I liked it exactly as it was. The pie was not tall--I might add a couple of extra apples next time to get a taller pie, but maybe not. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This came out great. I brought it to a family gathering for Christmas and just made it again for Easter. Everyone loves it. The only thing I did was added 2 or 3 more apples than the recipe calls for. The first time I made it, the pie sunk in the middle a little bit. Other than that, the recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KasiB.
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Five Stars! I loved this pie it was delicious! I did turn the heat down to 375 after ten minutes. I also used cherry pie filling instead of dried cherries. That was all I had and it worked great. I just added 1/4 cup more flour. Also added more cinnamon. I used the Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe that is also on the All Recipe Site! It worked wonderfully! Need to try it! Glad I found both recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is the first time i ever made a pie, and WOW did it turn out GOOD!!!! Thanks for this recipe very yummy! I did follow the other reply's 425 for 10 min then 350 for 1 hr....turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Nobleboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I adore this recipe! We use dried cranberries instead of cherries. I've made it for special fall occasions such as Thanksgiving. The perfect amount of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States