Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I could not eat it as it is written. I wish I had read the reviews first, it was way too salty with the Worcestershire sauce, MSG, and onion salt (all of these ingredients are very salty). I am working on altering what I made with additional cream cheese in the hopes of cutting the salt so that I can serve it today. If not, I will have to start from scratch. I will make this again, but without the above ingredients as others have suggested. I just wish they had not altered it and then given it five stars. I believed the stars and made it as written. Don't make my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Best cheese ball ever! I started making this about 4 years ago and ever since then i have been asked to make it for every family gathering. i even double the recipe and most of the time i need to make 2. Never any leftovers. I never us the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I make mine without the MSG. I use garlic powder in it instead cause it is much healthier than msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
RINSE THE BEEF! If you use the real DRIED BEEF, rather than the cheaper smoked beef, it is very salty. I ruined a double batch by not rinsing. It was just to terribly salty. Headed back to store for more beef and rinsed it. Ahhh, success. I don't use MSG. I did pick up some horseradish the 2nd trip to the grocery store and added a bit. Emmm, good. The green onions are a must. They add nice color and a bit of sweetness. I use all of the onion, white and green. This is so addictive. I've had before but never made. At work there was a carry-in for Easter and I could have sat down with a spoon and consumed the whole thing. I asked for the basic receipe, stopped at the store and then checked out allrecipes.com. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is DELICIOUS. Maybe the best guy dip in the world. Make it next time you have a group of XYs sitting around your television. A friend made this and I nearly didn't taste it. Once I did, I couldn't leave it alone! NO ONE EVER NEEDS TO CONSUME MSG and this recipe doesn't need it for any reason. It's yummy. Culinary crack cocaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is our favorite cheeseball recipe! Whenever the family says they're making cheeseball, this is always the one that has been made from as far back as I can remember. Ive made others but this always seems to be the classic that you can't go without. I dont use the msg. It just depends, but sometimes the amounts of the green onions and worchestershire sauce are upped :) We always roll the outside in more chipped beef. Great cheeseball served with veggies and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good. I like to leave out the msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I normally love Dried Beef Cheese Ball, but this was very salty as written. The dried beef provides plenty of salt. I would suggest substituting the onion salt with onion powder or dried chopped onion. I left out the MSG for obvious reasons. The next time I make this I plan on doubling the cream cheese then adding small amounts of the dried beef and onion powder until the saltiness is tolerable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kip30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made a simular cheese ball adding 1/2 jar chopped green olives in it and sliced the rest to decorate around it great for x-mas. This one my kids loved thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I like to rinse and dry beef in a paper towel this will cut down on salt,instead of onion salt i like to use garlic powder (or fresh) and only use accent if making couple days ahead. My son who dont normally eat this kind of stuff loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States