Dried Beef Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good. I added 4 oz of sour cream and finely diced green, red, orange peppers and garlic salt. The sour cream was added to help stretch the amount of end product. Had unexpected guests. Everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I couldn't find dried beef at the store by my house so I used 2 packages of buddig corned beef and added 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder (POWDER not salt!) and it was really tasty. Make sure you leave the cream cheese out for a few hours and its really easy to mix. I'd recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Since the first time we made it (my husband and I like to cook together), it's been a "command performance" at family events. We typically add a little garlic powder. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Very good, rolled mine in parsley from my garden. For the salt issue (I do like the regular dried beef) I used my kitchen scissors to cut it up into a strainer, then ran it under warm water. Squeeze out the water, and that took care of the saltiness issue and my beef was ready to drop into the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Its awesome I make one a week for my family an for party's! ! It is very salty so I use the lower sodium beef big difference try that an you dont have to rinse your beef :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very good! I made this yesterday for a small Christmas gaqthering. Everyone loved it. I used 2 (2oz) packs of shaved beef inside the ball because I could not find dried beef; then I used 1 (2oz) pack of shaved beef on the outside. I doubled the Worchestershire Sauce. It makes a large ball (about 5-6 inches in diameter). For a small gathering of 5-6 people, you could half the recipe. We had about 1/2 of the ball left over with 5 people enjoying it; eveyone was trying to prevent getting full on this because we were following it with a large meal. I will try rolling in crushed pecan bits the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I have used this recipe for years but instead of seasoning salt I use Accent and let it set for a couple of hours before serving. It's always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is my go to cheese ball recipe! Very good. A couple of important tips though. #1. The longer it sits, the more the flavors blend. So I would at least make this the day before you want to serve it. #2. You MUST rinse the dried beef under some running water really well to remove the salt or else the cheese ball will be way too salty! Just rinse the beef slices, then pat dry with paper towels. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I love this stuff, but to me, the Worchestershire and seasoned salt ruin this classic recipe, so as a personal preference, I've always made this with just cream cheese, green onions, and dried beef (in a jar...don't remember the brand name). I don't rinse the beef, just mince it. In this case, I love the saltiness of the beef and without the additional salt, it's not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I have made this several times. I am sure this is terrible for you, but sooo good. I usually use 4 oz of beef, b/c that is = to 2 packages of the Buddig Beef. I usually just chop all the beef and mix it in and then just serve the mixture in a bowl instead of rolling into a ball. . . Unless I am trying to be fancy. :) I always try to make ahead, b/c it is much better when the flavors have time to meld. We love it w/ Triscuits and Ritz. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States