Drew's World Famous Triple Rush Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Delicious. This is going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
very good! i don't have instant coffee (can't stand the stuff!)so i substituted a 1/2 cup of real coffee for the instant coffee and 1/2 cup cold milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
delicious - I sometimes add an extra tsp of skim milk powder for even more richness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was good, but for special occasions only. I didn't have a problem with non dissolved granules, because I stirred everything really well in very warm milk. It is rich and filling, but too much to have on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
to get a spicy bitterness, i used bittersweet chocolate chips, and also tripled the amount of cinnamon and chili powder, adding an extra 1/4-1/2 cup of milk (i've made it twice already). after all the ingredients were in, I churned it for 1 minute with one of those handheld devices. it made it much lighter, fluffier, so that it was still rich, but no longer heavy. churning it also eliminated the graininess others reported---i would still strain it before though, for the ultimate smooth texture. my family could only take a shot of it because it was so filling---but they LOVED the unique flavor. next time i am going to add more milk so that people can actually handle a whole mug of this---a dark chocolate lover's wish come true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was an amazing recipe!!! I cooked the chocolate chips and cold milk on the stove and used a whisk so i didn't have to strain it, it came out delicious. i added way more then a pinch of chili powder and it gave it a nice kick. i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was delicious! I used Cayenne pepper instead of chili simply because I mis read the recipe. It was still amazing and had a great kick! I can't wait to make this for my fiance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Really chocolatey! And my boyfriend didn't like having to stir the chocolate every 20 seconds...but overall, it was delicious with some freshly ground cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was to DIE for!! It is a "10*" recipe! I loved that it was thick and it took care of my chocolate fix! I think I overdid the cinnamon but it made it better! I did not have instant coffee in the jar but I had these maxwellhouse coffee singles (they look like tea bags but with coffee) and I cut the bag and put the coffee from that into the mixing glass I used and it came out super yummy! Thank you Drew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Made a bunch of this and served it at a party and received many compliments. I wound up adding quite a bit of milk to taste, however, since the recipe makes very rich hot chocolate. People detected the cinnamon but were surprised to hear about the chili pepper! Good recipe, just expect to use about 1.5x the milk/water the recipe calls for unless you like drinking chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Dannon Triple Threat Fruit Smoothies

Dessert or nutritious snack, you can't beat smoothies made with Dannon Yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States