Dressing Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My Grandmother used to make dressing balls every year for Thanksgiving & Christmas. Unfortunately, I never got the recipe. These patties are pretty close to hers. They are simple to make and DELICIOUS!! A definite addition to my Thanksgiving and Christmas cooking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My mother always made this type of dressing for Thanksgiving with minor differences. She would cook a pan of cornbread and a can of biscuits. Crumble them together and add onion and celery that had been sauteed in butter. She would pour in enough chicken broth to give it a cake batter consistency and add her spices plus 2 or 3 beaten eggs. She would pour it into a 9x13 pan and bake until it was golden brown. This is from deep in the heart of Texas and very different from stove top stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I loved this! I don't eat meat, so I didn't add the poultry seasoning, and I used veg broth instead of turkey, but it was great! I liked that each bite had a bit of "crust" to it - so everyone, not just the first people to serve themselves, had that great "top layer" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
My husband's grandmother has been making this recipe as long as he can remember! (40 years) Wonder who originated it? I'm glad to have it in print, because Mimi never wrote anything down! Even with the recipe, it's hard to make it taste "just like Mimi's"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
made these for dinner cuz i had leftover biscuits and didn't want to throw them away. used chicken broth and added some browned sage pork sausage to patties, then poured peppered country gravy over the top. very good! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
kids loved these too. i followed the recipe and added about 3/4 of a pound of jimmy dean maple sausage. these can be reheated and eaten as a meal with some gravy on top. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
i used this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it even my niece who doesnt like anything that doesnt come out of a box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Amazing! I decided to try this recipe because I had a pan of cornbread and several biscuits left over from previous dinners. It was like Thanksgiving dinner all wrapped up into one neat little package. Huge hit with my kids. I already had biscuits made from "heart healthy" Bisquick, so I used those, and I used "No Chicken Chicken Broth" and Earth Balance spread in place of the turkey stock and butter and omitted the mushrooms (kids) and they were amazing. I also upped the spices just because we like a lot of flavor. I'll be making cornbread and biscuits just to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
A yummy way to re-prepare leftover dressing after Thanksgiving. I still added gravy and cranberry sauce and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I made this for my husband for his office's Thanksgiving pot luck. It went over quite well, and it was very easy to make. The only thing I didn't like about the patties was that there were large chunks of biscuit in them that disrupted the "dressing" flavor. The cornbread crumbles nicely, but biscuits are much denser, and they might benefit from a quick run through the food processor before being mixed in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States