Dreamy Fudge Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
These are fudgey and very sweet. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and accidentally put the almond in the crust batter so I also put it in the filling. It was a bit much - not a knock against the recipe, just a warning not to add more almond than it calls for. I think these would be really good with part of the shortening replaced by peanut butter and chopped peanuts instead of walnuts. The filling would also be amazing if it were caramel instead of chocolate. A word of caution - don't run the filling all the way to the edges. I'd recommend pressing the crust up around the edges and keep the filling toward the middle. Mine ran over a little bit. Luckily, since I thought the pan looked a bit overfull, I put a sheet of aluminum foil on the rack beneath to catch anything that might bubble over. Not a lot, but something to keep in mind. Overall these were good, and with a few tweaks I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These were pretty good..husband loved them. They looked good. I put them in a slightly smaller pan and added 5 min. to baking time. I would increase the vanilla...don't like almond....next time to 1 tsp. I think i'd try butter also for more flavor. I think some were having trouble with a dry crust if they used instant oatmeal or small grain...use the old fashioned rolled oats..they're big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made the recipe exactly as written then had to add 2 T of water to the oatmeal/flour mix to make it useable. It looked promising going into the oven, but even with 10 extra minutes of baking, the bottom never cooked and I can't get anything out of the pan. You would have to eat this with a spoon. Off to make something else for my son's birthday tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Because of all the comments regarding the crust being dry I got a little scared and used the crust from a date bar recipe found here at all recipes. The fudge filling was delicious and a big hit with the family. I used vanilla instead of almond. I will make it again and try the crust recipe however I would make it with butter and never shortening. That could be the problem people are having. I just didn't want to take the chance as these were going to be served on Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very good, rich and gooey. I left out the almond flavoring because I am not a fan of that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very good but go easy on the almond extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I just made these and the chocolate filling was so runny that we had to shovel the mixture out of the pan. The resulting slop was very tasty though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
These were wonderful! I used white chocolate chips (I was out of regular chocolate chips) and I forgot to add the Almond Extract but they turned out great. They would also be great with peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
These turned out great. I found the amount of almond extract to be perfect -- very mild; and I'm generally pretty sensitive to things like that. The dough WAS dry, like another viewer commented. However, I just added 2 tablespoons of water and it turned out fine. In the future I would add the water at the same time I add the eggs and also I might use butter/marg instead of shortening to make them even more savory and irresistable. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Kind of bitter surprisingly. Also kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States