Dragan's Leg of Lamb with Garlic and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My family loved it. I didn't have carrots, so I used green beans and mushrooms with the potatoes instead and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
my stepdaughter and I are cooking this recipe as we speak....we have an hour and a half left so we will let you know how it turns out. smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I had a 2lb leg of lamb so the cooking time turned out to be 30 minutes plus 50 minutes, basting with beer (hefeweizen) every 15 minutes. I used 1lb of baby red potatoes, 12 oz baby carrots, about 2 cups of chopped celery and 1/2 a white onion, chopped. Probably 1 and 1/2 Tbsp of rock salt and 1/2 Tbsp of pepper was used on the 2lb roast. The garlic flavor was amazing and my husband couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is definitely the most tender and flavorful lamb dish I have cooked. I used New Holland Brewery's Cabin Fever Brown Ale, which is a favorite of mine. I added onions and celery to the recipe. I cooked a 4 pound boneless leg of lamb and, after the initial 30 minutes, I needed less than 40 minutes at 350 degrees to bring it up to 150. My only problem was that I greatly over-salted it. I now have a very large pot of lamb stew on the stove that is still a little salty, even with another gallon of liquid and some arrowroot added to it. I followed the advice of another reviewer who said that (s)he(?) used 5 Tbs. of rock salt and I used 5 Tbs. of coarse sea salt. Big mistake on my part, but without that error, this is one of the best dishes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was amazing and simply easy to make! For those who are not cooks, you need to cut your potatoes about the size of your carrots for even cooking. Also, GENEROUSLY add salt and coarse pepper - for my 3lb lamb, I used about 5 TBLS of rock salt (rock salt is better for meat rubs, I think). As far as coooking time, after the first 30 minutes at 400 degrees, cook lamb at 350 degrees for about 10-15 minutes per pound. Use 10 minutes as your gauge for medium rare in the middle. For those who like medium, they can eat the ends. If you want ends wells done and the middle medium, then use the 15 minutes per pound rule. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very easy and tasty!!! Like the one pan idea and roasted potatos were memories of a dish my mom used to make. Garlic cloves in and coated with SnP and mustard and let sit in fridge overnight. More mustard and 1/2 hour at 400 and 1.5 hrs at 3.75 - perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I modified this slightly - I had a 4.5 lb leg of lamb and used 20 cloves. I cut them in half and inserted them all over. But I am pretty sure next time I'm going to do the full 30. It is not too many! I left off the mustard but instead made a rub of 3 tsps dried rosemary, a little olive oil and some salt/pepper (not sure on amounts...just to "taste"). I took it out after about 1 1/2 hours total because my temperature was 150. And I loved the flavor I got on the potatoes/carrots due to the basting I did with the beer/juices (hefe) at the bottom. I wish I would have added more veggies to my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I will certainly make this again. My husband and I both loved the garlic in the lamb and the mustard was very mild and pleasant. However - it needed a ton of salt rubbed in at the beginning - and I tend to steer away from tons of salt. Nonetheless, it is necessary for the future roasts. Other than that, cooking time and temperatures were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I can't believe this recipe has not been rated. I was very pleased, as was my family. I was able to even fool a friend who does not like lamb, he was very impressed and has changed his mind about lamb. Do not make if you have a HOT date. Garlic is plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Chef John’s Roasted Leg of Lamb

See how to make roasted leg of lamb with an herb, garlic, and pomegranate rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States