Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was good bread. I ended up using most of it for stuffing. So many reviews said to use one cup of cornmeal instead of 1/2 cup so that is what I did. Next time I will use the called for 1/2 cup. I really think I will like it better the original way. Thanks Verla for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I was looking for a yeasty cornbread to accompany a pork roast for Thanksgiving dinner. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and cut the flour to 2 1/2 cups, changed the cornmeal to 1 cup, and omitted the water. The bread turned out GREAT. Not dry or crumbly, and it is even good the next day (which I can rarely say of bread produced by my bread machine). This is definitely a recipe I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Easy and very good. As other reviewers have said, it toasts up wonderfully the next day. I made it instead of rolls to accompany a ham dinner. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Thank you! It's absolutely delicious!!! Although I went for 1 cup cornmeal / 3 cups bread flour ratio and it worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We are in a small village in Costa Rica where it is difficult to find decent hamburger buns. I thought I would give this recipe a try. It was my third different recipe attempt. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and after it was complete, I rolled the dough out and cut it into 3 inch circles, and let them rise about 40 minutes. I put a empty baking pan at the bottom of the oven while it was preheating @ 385. Put the buns in, added water to the pan and baked for about 18 minutes. These were incredible, the best buns we have had in a long time. I will look no further they were that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
You are my hero! Thanks to this recipe which comes out exactly like the Pillsbury Corn Bread Twists that were discontinued years ago...I can now, once again, make my Jalapeno Poppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
yes makes excellent toast but that's it. found it dry and very much lacking the 'corn'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Tasty bread that complimented my bean soup well! If you are expecting old fashioned southern cornbread, you should not be looking at a yeast bread recipe! I read many of the reviews before making this bread and automatically changed the flour to 3 cups, the cornmeal to 1 cup, and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I found I needed to add an extra 2 tbsp water to my dough after it started mixing. This was a hearty bread with a nice corn flavor. My family has requested it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
It was pretty good, didn;t taste much like cornbread though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States