Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
It was a good bread, but not really a cornbread. I added a bit more sugar and cut back on the flour as noted by another reviewer. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This loaf had georgeous color and a very high rise, and a light, soft texture. Love what the cornmeal added. I had to modify it since I don't have a bread machine, and found that it didn't need all the flour called for. I warmed the milk, dissolved the yeast and sugar in it, then added the rest of the wet and then the dry ingredients. I kneaded it with my Kitchenaid for about 10 min, and baked it in a greased loaf pan at 375 for 35 min. When I took it out of the oven, I brushed the crust with melted butter, which I think I'll start doing with every bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
AWESOME BREAD! I made this bread with allrecipes Chicken Chili. The whole family loved it. I know I'll be making it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This recipe made a perfect looking loaf of bread. But we prefer a regular quick bread type of cornbread or even a regular white bread over this. There was just something about the texture of the crust that seemed a little strange. However, we liked it much better after we toasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This bread is fabulous! The crust and taste can't be beat. I used 1 c. of whole wheat flour, and I let it rise twice. I baked my loaf in an 8 x 4 pan for 30 minutes. I also got five 1 1/2 inch rolls out of the recipe. Those baked for about 23 minutes and turned out nice and crusty. Verla and Dr. Michael, you both rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This turned out okay, more of a cake than a bread in my view, I've never found a bread with egg in that I really enjoyed. It was a gorgeous colour though, and had a very nice crust, but I did end up turning half into a bread pudding and half into croutons. However, if you like your bread sweet and eggy (challah fans?) you'll probably enjoy this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I have made this twice. The first loaf was good but the second time I decreased the flour by 1/2 cup (very dry where we live) and I added a half tablespoon more sugar. This turned out great! Wonderful toast and sandwich bread. Not cornbread as I know it but great bread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This was so good! My husband loved it and so did my 1 1/2 year old son. Very good with ham and beans as well as with butter. Nice the next day too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Also makes great rolls. For a slightly chewy very moist bread, try rapid rise yeast and the express bake setting on your bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe makes really good breadsticks (kind of like the cornbread twists you can get at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA
Living In: Sunset, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States