Dr. Bird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ChefsDaughter
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Wonderful and moist. I made a coconut glaze for the top: 2 tablespoons of margerine, 1/3 c. sugar, 1/3 c. coconut, and 1/3 c. milk (heat and allow to cool slightly). I'll definitely make this one again. A great way to use up my freezer full of bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This was an easy and pretty cake. I used another reviewers idea and made a coconut topping, this gave it something a little more than just a banana bread taste. I also used 1/2C applesauce in place of 1/2 the oil - no loss of taste or consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was quick to throw together, but takes awhile to bake. Like Charlotte, I only had chunk pineapple on hand, so I chopped it up some. I baked mine in 2 (9x5 inch) loaf pans; it filled them about halfway, which was perfect. I think it would work well in 2 (8x4 inch) loaf pans also. I topped mine with a coconut streusel made with 1/4 cup butter, flour, sugar and coconut. It's easy to remember, because it's all equal amounts. Just mix until crumbly. The cake was very moist and good. I make this for my girlfriend's family, and they all love it, even those who are jealous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This cake is so good!!! I used self-rising flour and eliminated the soda and salt. And I only had chunk pineapple so I just cut it up some. This cake (bread) was so moist and had a perfect crumb. I didn't have any problems at all. I will be making it a lot because it seems that I always have bananas that are over-ripe. Oh, and I used a Bundt pan (very pretty). Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Delicious!!!! You can use this cake for breakfast or dessert. My can of pineapple was 20 oz so I doubled everything else, halfed the oil and replaced the other half with applesauce. It was wonderful. It made one bundt, 1 large and 1 medium loaf pan. Next time I'm going to try a powdered sugar glaze over the top but it was wonderful without. My mother-in-law thought it was so good that I could sell it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Wonderful recipe! This was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand. I used a Bundt pan and the cake came out perfect. This is a great one for those that don't like overly sweet desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I've made this recipe for a couple years now. My friend's parents said it was the best cake they've ever had. Perfect for breakfast with coffee or afternoon with tea, but it doesn't need a hot beverage, it's so moist! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a dynamite cake, but, why are the instructions and baking times shown for a 10 inch tube pan and the photo of the finished product shown for a 13 x 9 pan (or a 17 x 11 pan)????? The baking times would differ based the type of pan used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
IMPRESSIVE! Even more impressive, I only had to use ONE bowl to put this together! Wonderful! I was able to use two round 8" pans and a small loaf pan! I gave away two and ate one! perfectly moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Delicious!! It only took 60 min to bake, depends on your oven i guess. I made a cinnamon drizzle for the top. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States