Dr. Bird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Delicious!!!! You can use this cake for breakfast or dessert. My can of pineapple was 20 oz so I doubled everything else, halfed the oil and replaced the other half with applesauce. It was wonderful. It made one bundt, 1 large and 1 medium loaf pan. Next time I'm going to try a powdered sugar glaze over the top but it was wonderful without. My mother-in-law thought it was so good that I could sell it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This was an easy and pretty cake. I used another reviewers idea and made a coconut topping, this gave it something a little more than just a banana bread taste. I also used 1/2C applesauce in place of 1/2 the oil - no loss of taste or consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Wonderful recipe! This was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand. I used a Bundt pan and the cake came out perfect. This is a great one for those that don't like overly sweet desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
First review I have written, and had to for this "bread" that sirves well as a cake. Very moist, very rich, and was a hit at a family picnic. Have tried with fresh pineapple, added slivered almonds,extra banana,all work well. Baked in a Bundt pan, and just topped with powerdered sugar.... it's delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Loved this recipe. Had been looking for something to make with the pineapple I have lurking in my cupboard and I found this!! My whole family loved it. I made two loaves and they were both gone the next day. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
It was ok, but I probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Delicious!! It only took 60 min to bake, depends on your oven i guess. I made a cinnamon drizzle for the top. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was quick to throw together, but takes awhile to bake. Like Charlotte, I only had chunk pineapple on hand, so I chopped it up some. I baked mine in 2 (9x5 inch) loaf pans; it filled them about halfway, which was perfect. I think it would work well in 2 (8x4 inch) loaf pans also. I topped mine with a coconut streusel made with 1/4 cup butter, flour, sugar and coconut. It's easy to remember, because it's all equal amounts. Just mix until crumbly. The cake was very moist and good. I make this for my girlfriend's family, and they all love it, even those who are jealous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This cake is so good!!! I used self-rising flour and eliminated the soda and salt. And I only had chunk pineapple so I just cut it up some. This cake (bread) was so moist and had a perfect crumb. I didn't have any problems at all. I will be making it a lot because it seems that I always have bananas that are over-ripe. Oh, and I used a Bundt pan (very pretty). Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States