Dr. Bird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Delicious!!!! You can use this cake for breakfast or dessert. My can of pineapple was 20 oz so I doubled everything else, halfed the oil and replaced the other half with applesauce. It was wonderful. It made one bundt, 1 large and 1 medium loaf pan. Next time I'm going to try a powdered sugar glaze over the top but it was wonderful without. My mother-in-law thought it was so good that I could sell it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This was an easy and pretty cake. I used another reviewers idea and made a coconut topping, this gave it something a little more than just a banana bread taste. I also used 1/2C applesauce in place of 1/2 the oil - no loss of taste or consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Wonderful recipe! This was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand. I used a Bundt pan and the cake came out perfect. This is a great one for those that don't like overly sweet desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
First review I have written, and had to for this "bread" that sirves well as a cake. Very moist, very rich, and was a hit at a family picnic. Have tried with fresh pineapple, added slivered almonds,extra banana,all work well. Baked in a Bundt pan, and just topped with powerdered sugar.... it's delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Loved this recipe. Had been looking for something to make with the pineapple I have lurking in my cupboard and I found this!! My whole family loved it. I made two loaves and they were both gone the next day. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
It was ok, but I probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Delicious!! It only took 60 min to bake, depends on your oven i guess. I made a cinnamon drizzle for the top. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was quick to throw together, but takes awhile to bake. Like Charlotte, I only had chunk pineapple on hand, so I chopped it up some. I baked mine in 2 (9x5 inch) loaf pans; it filled them about halfway, which was perfect. I think it would work well in 2 (8x4 inch) loaf pans also. I topped mine with a coconut streusel made with 1/4 cup butter, flour, sugar and coconut. It's easy to remember, because it's all equal amounts. Just mix until crumbly. The cake was very moist and good. I make this for my girlfriend's family, and they all love it, even those who are jealous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This cake is so good!!! I used self-rising flour and eliminated the soda and salt. And I only had chunk pineapple so I just cut it up some. This cake (bread) was so moist and had a perfect crumb. I didn't have any problems at all. I will be making it a lot because it seems that I always have bananas that are over-ripe. Oh, and I used a Bundt pan (very pretty). Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States