Dr. Bird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I started making this recipe about 35 years ago but somehow lost the recipe. I would make one almost every week when I was younger. I've been looking for it online for about four years. I was elated to find it as the first recipe that popped up when I found this site. The only thing that I would change about the reciped is to check the cake at 1 hr. to see if it needs to go the last 15 mins. My oven must be a little hotter, because it dryed out a little. It was still very good, though and everyone loved it! My son (who doesn't eat cake) likes this one! My grandbabies love it, and it's very easy for my four yr. old grand-daughter to help make it. We had such fun and she was so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was one of the worst recipes I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefsDaughter
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Wonderful and moist. I made a coconut glaze for the top: 2 tablespoons of margerine, 1/3 c. sugar, 1/3 c. coconut, and 1/3 c. milk (heat and allow to cool slightly). I'll definitely make this one again. A great way to use up my freezer full of bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Taste was delicious! I used a bundt pan for this and I thought it would NEVER be done. After 65 minutes the top (really the bottom) of the cake was beginning to burn despite it being on a lower rack. I poked several holes with toothpicks in various parts of the cake which came out clean. Done, right? No. After the cake cooled I was disappointed to find the cake partially unbaked when I cut into it. I baked for another 20 minutes - for a total of 85 minutes and it was still the consistancy of very moist stuffing. I ended up cutting the unbaked part off because part of it was still edible. Kinda disappointing but to no fault of the author. I just won't use a bundt pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a very good bread, a very good way to use up overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Perfect. Very good flavor- made exactly as recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This cake was very good. I used 1 cup sugar and 1/3 cup Splenda for baking. Everything else was by the recipe. It was good enough to bake for a cake/pie auction at church tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I've made this recipe for a couple years now. My friend's parents said it was the best cake they've ever had. Perfect for breakfast with coffee or afternoon with tea, but it doesn't need a hot beverage, it's so moist! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
IMPRESSIVE! Even more impressive, I only had to use ONE bowl to put this together! Wonderful! I was able to use two round 8" pans and a small loaf pan! I gave away two and ate one! perfectly moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Delicious!!!! You can use this cake for breakfast or dessert. My can of pineapple was 20 oz so I doubled everything else, halfed the oil and replaced the other half with applesauce. It was wonderful. It made one bundt, 1 large and 1 medium loaf pan. Next time I'm going to try a powdered sugar glaze over the top but it was wonderful without. My mother-in-law thought it was so good that I could sell it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States