Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good!!!! I followed this recipe close except I did 2 cups white sugar, 1 cup brown. I used 2 pretty big loaf pans and they came out kinda flat but that was my fault. Should get myself a few smaller pans! At first I thought the batter looked to runny but it's not. I also cooked it an additional few minutes. But regardless, this was sooo good. I will be making again! I recommend it warm with a cinnamon/butter/honey/powered sugar mix topping. They have the recipe on this site as I believe under "cinnamon butter". These would be awesome in a cupcake pan too, I think. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe is great. I have gone through many pumpkin bread recipes and love this one. I followed it as written and it came out perfect. I brought it into work as muffins and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great recipe. Very moist. I used (9) small loaf pans approx 5x2. The only change I might make next time is to add some nuts and/or chocolate chips and increase cinnamon or use pumpkin pie spice. This is a keeper even without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
There is nothing to change on this recipe, it is simply amazing and love making it and freezing it for later. Best pumpkin gingerbread I have had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This recipe is great! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Amazing recipe. So flavourful. I reduced sugar to 2 cups, omitted the oil and used 1 cup of applesauce instead. Will be making this again. Toddler approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I took other reviews suggestions and halved the oil with applesauce and subbed in eggbeaters for eggs. This made 1 loaf and 12 standard size muffins. The kids (5 ans 2) loved it! Definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I love it, my son loves it, my husband loves it, everyone raves about it. I don't have 7" by 3" loaf pans so I bake for 60 minutes in two 8" by 4" loaf pans. Freezes excellently in gallon-sized ziploc freezer bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
1/14: used 1/2 cup br. sugar in place of 1/2 cup sugar. i put a few nuts on top but i should have put alot throughout..it was ok but i dont really like pumpkin bread. ally liked it though. also i halfed the recipe to make i lg loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was a little dry if made as the recipe suggested. After reviewing others' comments, I would modify as follows next time: Use 1/2 cup apple sauce and 1/2 cup vegetable oil Use 1 cup brown sugar and 2 cups white sugar Double ginger Add vanilla Use apple juice instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 5,883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States