Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Didn't taste like pumpkin at all. It tasted more like a spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Love this recipe. I make it in a bundt pan with a cup of crushed pecans in the bottom and I also double all the spices in it. Added an 1/8 tsp of cardamom this time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DameLibelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is amazing!! My family raved about it and I'll be making it for the upcoming holidays. I read a lot of other reviews, took notes, and decided upon the following changes: I used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce instead of all the oil. I used 1 c. white sugar and 1 c. packed brown sugar instead of 3 cups of white sugar. Added 1 tsp. of vanilla and the following spices 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. cloves, 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 tsp. ginger and 1 c. chopped walnuts. I watched the video and used a mixer which wasn't clear in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe. I use it for loaves and for muffins/cupcakes. I like to make it a touch healthier but cutting the sugar down to 2 1/4 cups, switching the eggs out for flaxseed meal, and replacing half the oil with applesauce. These changes bring out the spices a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this recipe, but I didn't have all of the individual spices needed. So I used a pumpkin spice mix (which includes all of the spices in the recipe) and the bread came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Gave this recipe as gifts during the holidays. Yummy toasted with a little butter for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe is very good, but I made a few changes to make it even better. I used a 29oz can of pumpkin, divided the sugar into 1 cup white, 1.5 cups brown, and 1/2 cup molasses, omitted the water, used 1/2 cup oil and substituted the other 1/2 cup needed with plain applesauce, used 3 cups AP flour and 1/2 cup oat bran. I poured the mix into 2 large loaf pans and baked a little over an hour. The bread turned out extremely moist and it's absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I loved it. Added 1 tsp of ground cardamom. Substituted 1 cup of flour for oatmeal 1 cup. Added chia seeds 1 tablespoon. Topped with pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Added in chocolate chips and used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable. Also left out ginger and cloves, added in a little vanilla. Tasted WAY better the next day too for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Peach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Bound to be a new family favorite. Simple, without being bland. Flavorful, without being spicy. Just perfect. Went with the two 9 x 7 pans option, so they had to cook a bit longer before the toothpick came out clean, but everything else was by the book. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States