Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Fantastic! Banana bread was my favorite, but not after this. This has become a family staple. My husband is a pilot and I usually make him a small loaf to take on his trips. Only change we made was to use our own, homemade pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I bake this bread once a month and it always comes out moist and delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe was disgusting-too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akiko
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Thanks for the recipe! It was delicious! You could see green specks in my bread coz i baked and mashed fresh pumpkin, we don't have pumpkin puree where i am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akiko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This recipe was awesome. I did modify it slightly though. I took out a 1/2 cup of sugar and add-in about 1 1/2 to 2 TBS of honey, I used local, and the same of dark molasses, then about 5 1/2 TBS of dark brown sugar. I also only used about 3/4 cup of oil. I use butternut squash in any pumpkin recipe instead. I put 16 oz of puree and I used 1/3 cup of the cooking water instead of regular water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe for a few years now and my family just loves this pumpkin spice bread! I make this bread on a regular basis. I also use it for holiday gifts to friends and neighbors. As noted by Laurie, it does taste better if it sits at least a day. So happy I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
A+. That is all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmconl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very good pumpkin bread. I made a few alterations and also made a glaze (everything is yummiest with icing!). I used a 1/2 c brown sugar and added pumpkin pie spice in lieu of clove and ginger. I also used butter instead of vegetable oil. This recipe was the perfect amount for my bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I have made this recipe into large loaves, small loaves, muffins and mini muffins. It is so good!! Occasionally I add chopped apples to them, mmmmm..... I do substitute 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Made it this morning. Added raisins plumped in spiced rum, and vanilla. I put cinnamon sugar on top before I baked them, made a shiny, crunchy top. Definitely use OJ in recipe, as this recipe has baking soda, and needs an acid to react. I added half as much sugar, no oil, I used applesauce. Seemed a bit runny, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 5,916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States