Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Will be making this again and again. I didn't have the individual spices on hand, so I used the equivalent measurements of Pumpkin Pie Spice. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcelacamargo
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe. You can freeze the baked bread for a few weeks and it will still taste great once you defrost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
YUM!! this is such a great recipe for the fall during the cooler weather....this bread is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The holy grail of pumpkin bread. Perfect as written or with chocolate chips added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Love this recipe! I have made it many times and it never fails. The hubby doesn't like nutmeg so I also only add a pinch of that and add a little extra cinnamon. Sometimes I throw in a cup of chocolate chips (lightly floured to prevent sinking). And if I'm trying to make it a little healthier I will substitute 1/2 cup plain applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil and will also use 2 cups white flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of all white. You can't go wrong with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is so delicious! I've also made a more natural version with whole wheat flour, cane sugar, and apple sauce instead of oil. Still very tasty, but nothing beats the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I read the reviews of the recipe and tried what another person did and added double the spices it called for and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I also added about 3/4 cup chocolate chips and sprinkled sugar cinnamon on the tops of each loaf. I am now making this my go to pumpkin bread! So yummy...actually should be called cake in my opinion :) Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Another great one to "Tweak" into gluten free. I followed the directions pretty straight with the exception of trading the flour for Pamela's Artisan Flour Blend (Gluten free) I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separated spices. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Perfect!!!! make as is except with 1 c of brown sugar..butter pan and dust with cinnamon sugar..takes 20 minutes extra to fully cook..best taste the following day after wrapped in plastic wrap in the refrigerator for a day..flavors meld..add walnuts or pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I just made these and it has a really oily after taste! I think next time I will use a 1/4 cup of oil, 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 5,919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States